Wyoming Auto Insurance

Wyoming Auto Insurance Laws

Wyoming auto insurance laws require you to carry a minimum amount of liability insurance. You will need to provide proof that you possess the minimum liability auto insurance to pay for injuries to another person or damages to their property in case of an accident. In order to register your car in Wyoming, you must prove that you have the proper liability auto insurance coverage. All eligible drivers in a household must be covered under a liability auto insurance policy.

Mandatory liability auto insurance is also required on rental vehicles by the state of Wyoming. Your personal auto insurance policy generally covers rental cars but if it does not provide coverage for rental vehicles, you may want to check with the credit card that you used to rent the car on. Credit card companies sometimes cover insurance on rental cars. If neither option applies to your situation, you must purchase the minimum liability insurance from the rental company. The coverage from the rental car company will be about $7.00 to $14.00 per day. Keep the rental agreement in the vehicle throughout the term of the agreement. This will be your proof of insurance in case of an accident or traffic stop.

Wyoming Auto Insurance Requirements & Practices

The Wyoming auto insurance laws on books make it a Torte state. This means that the individual who is at fault in an accident may be sued by those injured in the accident, or families of those killed in the accident, for pain, suffering, and lost wages. That individual will also be held responsible for all medical expenses connected to the accident.

You must have proof of insurance with you at all times. Wyoming’s mandatory minimum liability auto insurance limits are $25,000.00 per individual injury or death, $50,000.00 for all injured persons, and $20,000.00 for damage to property. Auto insurance policies purchased in Wyoming will include the mandatory liability minimum insurance limits.

There is also a bit of lee-way in the Wyoming auto insurance laws. The state does not require drivers to carry underinsured or uninsured auto insurance coverage but the insurance company must offer that protection to you when you apply for a policy with their company. Likewise, you do not have to carry collision and comprehensive insurance on your vehicle but the company must offer you that option.

PENALTIES FOR LACK OF INSURANCE

Wyoming auto insurance laws require motorists to be covered by the mandatory liability auto insurance policy at all times. You will not be allowed to register your vehicle without proof of insurance. Should you become involved in an accident or be stopped for a traffic violation and you do not have the required liability policy, you will be cited as an uninsured motorist. Even if the accident is not your fault, you can still be cited for lacking proof of insurance.

This will result in fines and the possibility of jail time. The penalties will increase with repeat offenses, and continuing to violate the Wyoming auto insurance laws will prove to be expensive. The exemptions to the mandatory liability insurance are off highway vehicles and non-operational vehicles. Driving without the proper insurance is a misdemeanor in the state of Wyoming.

Upon the first offense, you will be charged a minimum of $250.00 to a maximum of $750.00 in fines as well as risking the possibility of jail time. With the second offense you will be charged $500.00 to 1,500.00 in fines and the possibility of jail time.

Proof of Insurance

As per the Wyoming auto insurance laws, you must produce proof of insurance upon request by the authorities. This proof needs to include the name of the insurance company, the dates of coverage, and the amount of liability coverage. It also needs to include the policy number, VIN number of the vehicles covered, the make and model of the vehicles as well as the name of the policy holder and all persons covered by the policy. The auto insurance needs to be authorized by a qualified auto insurance company.

Under Wyoming auto insurance requirements laws, you may need your proof of minimum liability auto insurance at any time. You will definitely need it at the time of registering your car, in the case of involvement in an accident either as the cause of the accident or the victim of the accident, or if you should be stopped for a traffic violation.