West Virginia Auto Insurance

West Virginia Auto Insurance Laws

Most states have a minimum mandatory liability insurance coverage or at least strongly suggest that residents carry a minimum amount of coverage. Some states have alternatives to the minimum liability coverage mandates. West Virginia auto insurance laws do not have an alternative to the state minimum auto liability insurance coverage its residents must carry.

No vehicle will be registered in the state of West Virginia without proof of the minimum liability auto insurance. The minimum liability auto insurance coverage in West Virginia is $20,000.00 of bodily injury insurance for each individual, $40,000.00 for two or more injured people and $10,000.00 for property damage.

West Virginia Auto insurance Requirements & Practices

You must carry proof of insurance with you at all times. Uninsured and underinsured motorist is not required by West Virginia auto insurance laws, but the insurance company may offer you the option to purchase this coverage when you buy your minimum coverage. It is recommended that you carry the same amounts of uninsured and underinsured coverage, $20,000.00 for each individual injured in an accident, $40,000.00 for all individuals injured in an accident and $10,000.00 for property damage, as the minimum state liability auto insurance requirements.

Every motorized vehicle on West Virginia roads must be covered by the minimum liability coverage, and makes up a large part of the West Virginia auto insurance laws. This law also applies to rental vehicles. Your insurance policy usually covers rental vehicles. The credit card you use to rent the car may also cover the insurance on the vehicle. If this is not the case, you will have to purchase the minimum liability auto insurance policy from the rental car company. Most rental companies provide this coverage for about $7.00 to $14.00 per day. Be sure to carry the rental agreement in the car at all times. This is your proof of insurance should you be involved in an accident or get stopped for a traffic violation.

If you are involved in an accident or experience any type of traffic stop in the state of West Virginia, the police officer will request proof of insurance, and you have to give it to him, or be found to be in violation of West Virginia auto insurance laws. You must have the proof of insurance even if you are not at fault.

Lack of insurance could result in fines, loss of your license, and the revocation of your registration. You must obtain the minimum insurance before you register your car. You will not be allowed to register your car without proof of insurance. The state of West Virginia does random checks for proper insurance coverage. If a question arises in regard to your insurance coverage the state may suspend your driver’s license and registration. Likewise, the insurance companies report all lapses in insurance to the DMV. Off-highway vehicles and non-operational vehicles do not require the minimum liability auto insurance.

PENALTIES

The penalties for not carrying current minimum liability auto insurance in the state of West Virginia include fines, loss of your driver’s license, and registration. That makes it expensive to be without the West Virginia auto insurance requirements. You will lose your license for 30 days with the first offense and 90 days for the second offense. Your license plates may be revoked and you could be fined $100.00 plus $50.00 reinstatement fees.

PROOF OF INSURANCE

Your proof of insurance should be kept in the car at all times. This proof needs to include the name of the insurance company and the policy holder’s name as well as the names of the individuals covered by the policy and the policy owner. It also needs to have the make, model, and year of the vehicle being covered. The vehicle’s VIN number and the dates of coverage are also required to assure the law enforcement officer that the insurance is current. In most states this is an insurance identification card issued by the company.