Virginia Auto Insurance

Virginia Auto Insurance Laws

The Commonwealth of Virginia auto insurance laws require you to carry a minimum amount of liability insurance. You will need to provide proof that you possess the minimum liability auto insurance to pay for injuries to another person or damages to their property in case of an accident.

The Department of Revenue and the Department of Insurance for the Commonwealth of Virginia are the government agencies you need to present your proof of insurance to. You may also need to contact the Motor Vehicle Division. In order to register your car in Virginia, and receive your plates and tags you must prove that you have the proper liability auto insurance coverage or pay the Uninsured Motor Vehicle fee of $500. The UMV will allow you to drive an uninsured vehicle at your own risk. The same rules apply to antique automobiles.

Virginia Auto Insurance Law & Practices

Mandatory liability auto insurance is also required on rental vehicles by the state of Virginia or a UMV. Your personal auto insurance policy generally covers rental cars but if it does not provide coverage for rental vehicles, you may want to check with the credit card that you used to rent the car. Credit card companies sometimes cover insurance on rental cars. If neither option applies to your situation, you must purchase the minimum liability insurance from the rental company or as stated above, purchase the UMV. Keep the rental agreement or the UMV receipt in the vehicle throughout the term of the agreement. This will be your proof of insurance or UMV in case of an accident or traffic stop.

Virginia is now a Torte state. This means that the individual who is at fault in an accident may be sued by those injured in the accident, or families of those killed in the accident, for pain, suffering, and lost wages. That individual will also be held responsible for all medical expenses connected to the accident. If you chose to pay the UMV fee you could end up in debt up to your ears if you are determined to be the cause of an accident.

You must have proof of insurance with you at all times, according to Virginia auto insurance laws. Virginia’s mandatory minimum liability auto insurance limits are $25,000.00 per individual injury or death, $50,000.00 for all injured persons, and $20,000.00 for damage to property. Auto insurance policies purchased in Virginia will include the mandatory liability minimum insurance limits.

However, the Commonwealth of Virginia auto insurance requirements do not extend to underinsured or uninsured auto insurance coverage, but the insurance company may offer that protection to you when you apply for a policy with their company. Likewise, you do not have to carry collision and comprehensive insurance on your vehicle but the company must offer you that option. Because Virginia follows a Torte system, the insurance company may strongly suggest that you carry more than the minimum liability auto insurance amounts.


Virginia auto insurance laws require motorists to be covered by the mandatory liability auto insurance policy at all times. You will not be allowed to register your vehicle, obtain plates or tags without proof of insurance. Should you become involved in an accident or be stopped for a traffic violation and you do not have the required liability policy, you will be cited as an uninsured motorist. Even if the accident is not your fault, you can still be cited for lacking proof of insurance. Your driving privileges and plates and tags will be confiscated. You will have to pay the $500.00 uninsured motorist fee and carry SR-22 insurance for the next three years.

You may also be forced to reinstatement fees for your driver’s license and registration. The insurance companies in the Commonwealth of Virginia inform the government agencies through an electronic program called the Insurance Verification Program. If your insurance lapses or is cancelled you must replace it immediately.


You must produce proof of insurance upon request by the authorities, as per Virginia auto insurance laws. This proof needs to include the name of the insurance company, the dates of coverage, and the amount of liability coverage. It also needs to include the policy number, VIN number of the vehicles covered, the make and model of the vehicles as well as the name of the policy holder and all individuals covered by the policy. The auto insurance needs to be authorized by the Commonwealth of Virginia authorized auto insurance company.

Remember that you may need your proof of minimum liability auto insurance at any time. You will definitely need it at the time of registering your car, in the case of involvement in an accident either as the cause of the accident or the victim of the accident, or if you should be stopped for a traffic violation.