Utah Auto Insurance

Utah Auto Insurance Laws

Most states have a minimum mandatory liability insurance coverage or at least strongly suggest that residents carry a minimum amount of coverage, Utah auto insurance laws are a bit different. In Utah you must have the minimum liability coverage and PIP. The minimum liability auto insurance coverage in Utah is $25,000.00 of bodily injury insurance for each individual, $50,000.00 for two or more injured people and $15,000.00 for property damage. You must also carry $3,000.00 of Personal Injury Protection (PIP) insurance. Operating a vehicle in Utah without the minimum liability insurance and PIP coverage is considered a Class B Misdemeanor. If you allow your coverage to lapse the insurance company will notify the DMV.

You must carry proof of insurance with you at all times. Uninsured and underinsured motorist is not required by Utah law but the insurance company must offer you the option to purchase this coverage when you buy your minimum coverage. Should you choose not to take this option, you will have to sign a paper stating that you turned down the coverage. Comprehension and collision coverage is not required by the state of Utah. Everyone who drives your vehicles or has access to your vehicles must be covered by your policy.

Utah Auto Insurance Requirements & Practices

Every motorized vehicle on Utah roads must be covered by the minimum liability coverage. This law also applies to rental vehicles. Your insurance policy usually covers rental vehicles. The credit card you use to rent the car may also cover the insurance on the vehicle. If this is not the case, you will have to purchase the minimum liability auto insurance policy from the rental car company. Most rental companies provide this coverage for about $7.00 to $14.00 per day. Be sure to carry the rental agreement in the car at all times. This is your proof of insurance should you be involved in an accident or get stopped for a traffic violation.

If you are involved in an accident or experience any type of traffic stop in the state of Utah, the police officer will request proof of insurance. You must have the proof of insurance even if you are not at fault. Lack of insurance could result in fines and loss of your license. Off-highway vehicles and non-operational vehicles do not require the minimum liability auto insurance.

PENALTIES

The penalties for not carrying current minimum liability auto insurance in the state of Utah include fines, and the loss of your driver’s license. You will lose your license for the amount of time determined by the court and you will be charged a $400.00 fine for the first offense. The penalties will increase with each additional infraction of the mandatory minimum insurance law. Because Utah is a no fault state, it is a Class B Misdemeanor to drive or let anyone else drive your vehicle without the proper coverage.

PROOF OF INSURANCE

Your proof of insurance should be kept in the car at all times. This proof needs to include the name of the insurance company and the policy holder’s name as well as the names of the individuals covered by the policy. It also needs to have the make, model, and year of the vehicle being covered on it. The vehicle’s VIN number and the dates of coverage are also required to assure the law enforcement officer that the insurance is current. In most states this is an insurance identification card issued by the company.

Other acceptable forms that satisfy as proof of Utah auto insurance requirements are the insurance policy cover page, the policy or proof that you carried insurance on the last vehicle owned when you have just replaced that vehicle with a new one. You need to have a bill of sale showing the new purchase within the last 30 days along with the prior vehicle’s insurance coverage and proof of the purchase of a policy for the new vehicle.