Pennsylvania Auto Insurance

Pennsylvania Auto Insurance Laws

The commonwealth of Pennsylvania auto insurance laws require drivers to provide the minimum mandatory liability auto insurance on any registered vehicle in the state. A vehicle that does not have the proper insurance coverage and has its registration revoked cannot be driven by anyone else. The minimum mandatory auto insurance must be obtained through an authorized insurance company which has received approval from the state of Pennsylvania.

The minimum liability auto insurance coverage in Pennsylvania is $15,000.00 of bodily injury insurance for each individual, $30,000.00 for two or more injured people and $5,000.00 for property damage. You must also carry a minimum of $5,000.00 PIP insurance. Any auto insurance policy purchased in Pennsylvania must include the minimum liability amounts. Because Pennsylvania is a tort state, the insurance company may strongly suggest you carry more than the mandatory minimum amounts of insurance.

Pennsylvania Auto insurance Requirements & Practices

You must carry proof of insurance with you at all times. Uninsured and underinsured motorist is not required by Pennsylvania law but the insurance company must offer you the option to purchase this coverage when you buy your minimum coverage. Should you choose not to take this option, you may be required to sign a paper stating that you turned down the coverage. Comprehension and collision coverage is not required by the state of Pennsylvania.

Every motorized vehicle on Pennsylvania roads must be covered by the minimum liability coverage. This law also applies to rental vehicles. Your insurance policy usually covers rental vehicles. The credit card you use to rent the car may also cover the insurance on the vehicle. If this is not the case, you will have to purchase the minimum liability auto insurance policy from the rental car company, as Pennsylvania auto insurance laws mandate. The coverage purchased from the rental company will cost $7.00 to $14.00 per day. Be sure to carry the rental agreement in the car at all times. This is your proof of insurance should you be involved in an accident or get stopped for a traffic violation.

If you are involved in an accident or experience any type of traffic stop in the state of Pennsylvania, the police officer will request proof of insurance. You must have the proof of insurance even if you are not at fault. Lack of insurance could result in fines, loss of your license and revocation of your registration. You have 31 days to replace a lapsed policy. You cannot drive the vehicle until you have replaced the cancelled policy and presented your proof of insurance to the state. Failure to do so can result in a three month suspension of your driver’s license. You may also lose the plates and registration to your vehicle. Vehicles which do not have to carry the mandatory minimum auto liability insurance are off road vehicles and non-operational, non-registered vehicles.

PENALTIES

The penalties for not carrying current minimum liability auto insurance in the state of Pennsylvania include fines, loss of your driver’s license and registration. The fines will be a minimum of $300.00, and a three month suspension of your vehicle registration and driver’s license for the first offence. You will have to pay restoration fees for the vehicle registration of $50.00 and a driver’s license reinstatement fee of $50.00 in order to get them back. You may also have to bail your vehicle out if the authorities put it in the impound lot.

PROOF OF INSURANCE

Your proof of insurance should be kept in the car at all times, to show that you have the Pennsylvania auto insurance requirements settled. This proof needs to include the name of the insurance company and the policy holder’s name as well as all the individuals covered by the policy. It also needs to have the make, model, and year of the vehicle being covered on it. The vehicle’s VIN number and the dates of coverage are also required to assure the law enforcement officer that the insurance is current. In most states, the accepted mode of proof is the insurance identification card issued by the insurance company holding the policy. Other forms of proof might include a cover page of the policy which includes all the pertinent information or a copy of the policy itself.