Oregon Auto Insurance

Oregon Auto Insurance Laws

Oregon auto insurance laws require drivers to provide the minimum mandatory liability auto insurance on any registered vehicle in the state. Each time you register a vehicle in Oregon you will be required to show proof of the minimum liability insurance coverage. This insurance must be obtained through an authorized insurance company which has received approval from the state of Oregon. The state randomly selects drivers to obtain verification of the minimum insurance coverage. If you receive one of these verification forms, you must respond with the required information or your license will automatically be suspended.

No vehicle will be registered in the state of Oregon without proof of the minimum liability auto insurance. The minimum liability auto insurance coverage in Oregon is $25,000.00 of bodily injury insurance for each individual, $50,000.00 for two or more injured people and $10,000.00 for property damage. You must also carry a minimum of $15,000.00 in PIP insurance. You also will be required to carry uninsured and underinsured motorist in the amounts of $25,000.00 and $50,000.00 respectively. Any auto insurance policy purchased in Oregon must include the minimum mandatory amounts, so you’ll be fine in achieving Oregon auto insurance requirements. Comprehensive and collision is not required in the state of Oregon. You must carry proof of insurance with you at all times.

Oregon Auto insurance Requirements & Practices

Every motorized vehicle on Oregon roads must be covered by the minimum liability coverage. This law also applies to rental vehicles. Your insurance policy usually covers rental vehicles. The credit card you use to rent the car may also cover the insurance on the vehicle. If this is not the case, you will have to purchase the minimum liability auto insurance policy from the rental car company. The coverage purchased from the rental company will be about $7.00 to $14.00 per day. Be sure to carry the rental agreement in the car at all times. This is your proof of insurance should you be involved in an accident or get stopped for a traffic violation.

If you are involved in an accident or experience any type of traffic stop in the state of Oregon, the police officer will request proof of insurance. You must have the proof of insurance even if you are not at fault. Insurance companies in Oregon are not required by law to notify the state in regard to the mandatory insurance coverage. A lapsed insurance policy will not be automatically reported to the state but you can still get caught driving without insurance which will involve penalties which include fines and possible jail time.

PENALTIES

Failure to have the proper insurance coverage is considered a Class A misdemeanor and is punishable by fines and a possibility of one year in jail. Your car may also be towed. If charged with not having the proper coverage you will lose your license. You can spend three days in jail. You will be required to carry SR-22 insurance for three years. If your SR-22 insurance lapses you will lose your license as well as pay stiff penalties, as mandated by Oregon auto insurance laws. If you have an accident without the proper insurance coverage you will lose your driver’s license for a minimum of one year. You will have to maintain SR-22 insurance for three years to keep your license in effect. Any further lapses of your insurance will result in another license suspension as well as additional fines.

PROOF OF INSURANCE

Your proof of insurance should be kept in the car at all times. This proof needs to include the name of the insurance company and the policy holder’s name. It also needs to have the make, model, and year of the vehicle being covered on it as well as the names of all the people covered by the insurance policy. The vehicle’s VIN number and the dates of coverage are also required to assure the law enforcement officer that the insurance is current.