Oklahoma Auto Insurance

Oklahoma Auto Insurance Laws

Legislators that determined the Oklahoma auto insurance laws have established a minimum level of mandatory auto insurance to be carried by all residents in the state. You will need to provide proof that you possess the minimum liability auto insurance to pay for injuries to another person or damages to their property in case of an accident. You will also need to be sure you carry proof of this insurance with you at all times.

The Oklahoma State Department of Revenue and the Oklahoma State Department of Insurance are the government agencies you need to present your proof of insurance to. You may also need to contact the Motor Vehicle Division. In order to register your car in Oklahoma, you must prove that you have the proper liability auto insurance coverage. All eligible drivers in a household must be covered under a liability auto insurance policy.

Mandatory liability auto insurance is also required on rental vehicles by the state of Oklahoma. Your personal auto insurance policy generally covers rental cars but if it does not provide coverage for rental vehicles, you may want to check with the credit card that you used to rent the car on, as credit companies nor Oklahoma auto insurance requirements designate them to. Credit card companies sometimes cover insurance on rental cars. If neither option applies to your situation, you must purchase the minimum liability insurance from the rental company. The policy purchased from the rental company is about $7.00 to $14.00 per day. Keep the rental agreement in the vehicle throughout the term of the agreement. This will be your proof of insurance in case of an accident or traffic stop.

Common Oklahoma Auto Insurance Laws

Oklahoma is a Torte state. This means that the individual who is at fault in an accident may be sued by those injured in the accident, or families of those killed in the accident, for pain, suffering, and lost wages. That individual will also be held responsible for all medical expenses connected to the accident. It is important that Oklahoma is a comparative negligence state. This means that those involved in an accident may share responsibility for the accident and the expenses from the accident will be split according to the percent of responsibility each party played in that accident. Oklahoma also requires individuals who do not own a car but may drive a vehicle say for their job to carry non-owners insurance.

You must have proof of insurance with you at all times. Oklahoma’s mandatory minimum liability auto insurance limits are $25,000.00 per individual injury or death, $50,000.00 for all injured persons, and $25,000.00 for damage to property. Auto insurance policies purchased in Oklahoma will include the mandatory liability minimum insurance limits. However, the state of Oklahoma does not require drivers to carry underinsured or uninsured auto insurance coverage but the insurance company must offer that protection to you when you apply for a policy with their company. Likewise, you do not have to carry collision and comprehensive insurance on your vehicle but the company must offer you that option.

PENALTIES FOR LACK OF INSURANCE

Oklahoma requires motorists to be covered by the mandatory liability auto insurance policy at all times. You will not be allowed to register your vehicle without proof of insurance. Should you become involved in an accident or be stopped for a traffic violation and you do not have the required liability policy, you will be cited as an uninsured motorist. Even if the accident is not your fault, you can still be cited for lacking proof of insurance, as Oklahoma auto insurance laws state. The penalties will increase with repeat offenses. The exemptions to the mandatory liability insurance are off highway vehicles and non-operational vehicles.

Upon the first offense, you will be charged $250.00 and may be sentenced to 30 days in jail. You may receive both penalties. Your driver’s license and vehicle registration could be suspended if you do not obey the Oklahoma auto insurance laws. They may also be suspended if you do not come up with your proof of insurance for an officer of the law or other state official upon request. Auto insurance companies do not appreciate it when drivers do not keep their insurance current. They are allowed by laws to increase your premiums if you allow your insurance to lapse.

PROOF OF INSURANCE

You must produce proof of insurance upon request by the authorities. This proof needs to include the name of the insurance company, the dates of coverage, and the amount of liability coverage – and that’s where the minimum for Oklahoma auto insurance requirements come in. It also needs to include the policy number, VIN number of the vehicles covered, the make and model of the vehicles as well as the name of the policy holder and all persons covered by the policy. The auto insurance needs to be authorized by a qualified auto insurance company. Acceptable proof is generally the insurance identification card issued to policy holders by the insurance company. Other acceptable forms may be a copy of the policy itself, the policy cover page which lists the coverage, or a receipt stating that the coverage is purchased if you don’t have the actual policy yet.

Remember that you may need your proof of minimum liability auto insurance at any time. You will definitely need it at the time of registering your car, in the case of involvement in an accident either as the cause of the accident or the victim of the accident, or if you should be stopped for a traffic violation.