Ohio Auto Insurance

Ohio Auto Insurance Laws

Most states have a minimum mandatory liability insurance coverage or at least strongly suggest that residents carry a minimum amount of coverage. Some states have alternatives to the minimum liability coverage mandates. Ohio auto insurance laws offer a bit more freedom.

No vehicle will be registered in the state of Ohio without proof of the minimum liability auto insurance. The minimum liability auto insurance coverage in Ohio is $12,500.00 of bodily injury insurance for each individual, $25,000.00 for two or more injured people and $7,500.00 for property damage. Other options you may use to provide financial responsibility for your vehicles are a surety bond or a BMV bond. The surety bond must be at least $30,000.00 and can be issued by any authorized surety company. A BMV bond is backed up by real estate of at least $60,000.00 or a certificate for money or government bonds of at least $30,000.00 and must be put on deposit with the state treasurer.

You must carry proof of insurance with you at all times, as Ohio auto insurance laws state. Uninsured and underinsured motorist is not required by Ohio law but the insurance company must offer you the option to purchase this coverage when you buy your minimum coverage. Should you choose not to take this option, you will have to sign a paper stating that you turned down the coverage. Comprehension and collision coverage is not required by the state of Ohio. Everyone who drives your vehicles or has access to your vehicles must be covered by your policy.

Ohio Auto Insurance Requirements

Every motorized vehicle on Ohio roads must be covered by the minimum liability coverage. This law also applies to rental vehicles. Your insurance policy usually covers rental vehicles. The credit card you use to rent the car may also cover the insurance on the vehicle. If this is not the case, you will have to purchase the minimum liability auto insurance policy from the rental car company. Most rental companies provide this coverage for about $7.00 to $14.00 per day. Be sure to carry the rental agreement in the car at all times. This is your proof of insurance should you be involved in an accident or get stopped for a traffic violation.

If you are involved in an accident or experience any type of traffic stop in the state of Ohio, the police officer will request proof of insurance. You must have the proof of insurance even if you are not at fault. Lack of insurance could result in fines, loss of your license, revocation of your registration and possibly the loss of your vehicle – as Ohio auto insurance laws state. You must obtain the minimum insurance before you register your car. You will not be allowed to register your car without proof of insurance. Off-highway vehicles and non-operational vehicles do not require the minimum liability auto insurance.

PENALTIES

The penalties for not carrying current minimum liability auto insurance in the state of Ohio include fines, loss of your driver’s license, registration, and the possible loss of your vehicle. You will lose your license for 90 days with the first offense. The second offense you will lose your license for one year and if you have more than 2 strikes against you for lack of insurance, you will also lose your license plates and registration. You will have to pay reinstatement fees of $75.00 to $500.00. You will also have to obtain SR-22 insurance for 3 to 5 years in order to get the license plates and driver’s license back.

Ohio auto insurance laws state that the vehicle can be impounded and the license plates can be taken for 60 days if you violate any suspensions due to lack of insurance. The state may also take the vehicle and take away your right to register another vehicle in the state of Ohio for as long as 5 years.

PROOF OF INSURANCE

Your proof of insurance should be kept in the car at all times, so law enforcement will know that you’re following the Ohio auto insurance requirements. This proof needs to include the name of the insurance company and the policy holder’s name as well as the names of the individuals covered by the policy. It also needs to have the make, model, and year of the vehicle being covered on it. The vehicle’s VIN number and the dates of coverage are also required to assure the law enforcement officer that the insurance is current. In most states this is an insurance identification card issued by the company. In the case of Ohio it may also be a certificate from the state showing that you have a funds deposited with the state or a form showing that you surety bonds in the appropriate amounts.