North Dakota Auto Insurance

North Dakota Auto Insurance Laws

North Dakota auto insurance laws require you to carry a minimum amount of liability insurance, uninsured, underinsured, and personal injury protection (PIP) insurance coverage. You will need to provide proof that you possess the minimum liability auto insurance to pay for your own injuries and/or damages to your property in case of an accident. In North Dakota, this requires you to carry a motor vehicle insurance identification card with you every time you get in your car. If you do not have this proof of insurance with you, you can be ticketed and fined.

The North Dakota State Department of Revenue and the North Dakota State Department of Insurance are the government agencies you need to present your proof of insurance to. In order to register your car in North Dakota, you must prove that you have the proper liability auto insurance coverage. All eligible drivers in a household must be covered under a liability auto insurance policy.

North Dakota Auto Insurance Laws and Practices

Mandatory liability auto insurance is also required on rental vehicles by the state of North Dakota. Your personal auto insurance policy generally covers rental cars but if it does not provide coverage for rental vehicles, you may want to check with the credit card that you used to rent the car. Credit card companies sometimes cover insurance on rental cars. If neither option applies to your situation, you must purchase the minimum liability insurance from the rental company. The coverage you obtain from the rental company will be $7.00 to $14.00 per day. You must keep the rental agreement in the vehicle throughout the term of the agreement. This will be your proof of insurance in case of an accident or traffic stop. If you decide to go off-roading in your rental vehicle, your insurance will be null and void.

North Dakota is a No Fault state in regards to personal injury. Individuals involved in an accident will be covered by their own insurance policy coverage. It is illegal to drive without the minimum coverage required by the state. For this reason, North Dakota requires that motorists have $30,000.00 of PIP insurance coverage, and make up North Carolina auto insurance requirements. Your insurance company should pay expenses up to the PIP limits for you and your passengers.

You must have proof of insurance with you at all times. North Dakota’s mandatory minimum liability auto insurance limits are $25,000.00 per individual injury or death, $50,000.00 for all injured persons, and $25,000.00 for damage to property. You are also required to carry $30,000.00 of Personal Injury Protection (PIP). Auto insurance policies purchased in North Dakota will include the mandatory liability minimum insurance limits. You are also required to carry underinsured or uninsured auto insurance coverage.

North Dakota Auto Insurance Requirements

A minimum of $25,000.00 per person and $50,000.00 per accident of uninsured motorist coverage is required and $25,000.00 per person and $50,000.00 per accident of underinsured coverage is required. You do not have to carry collision and comprehensive insurance on your vehicle but the company must offer you that option.

In North Dakota, insurance companies are allowed to cancel your coverage if your premium payment is not there on the exact day it is due. The policy will cancel at midnight and is called a lapsed policy. At this point in time you are officially breaking North Dakota auto insurance laws. You will be fined, have points added to your license if you are caught driving without the proper insurance coverage. If you do not provide proof to the state you may have your license suspended.

PENALTIES FOR LACK OF INSURANCE

North Dakota requires motorists to be covered by the mandatory liability auto insurance policy at all times. You will not be allowed to register your vehicle without proof of insurance. Should you become involved in an accident or be stopped for a traffic violation and you do not have the required liability policy, you will be ticketed and fined $150.00 and accumulate 12 points on your license for the first offense. The second offense within 18 months will result in a $300.00 fine, and 6 to 12 points attached to your license. You will be required to provide proof of insurance for the next 3 years. Failure to provide this proof will result in the forfeiture of your original license and the purchase of a special license which indicates that you do not have the proper insurance at a cost of $50.00 to you. Even if the accident is not your fault, you can still be cited for lacking proof of insurance. The exemptions to the mandatory liability insurance are off highway vehicles and non-operational vehicles which are also not registered.

PROOF OF INSURANCE

You must produce proof of insurance upon request by the authorities. This proof will be your insurance identification card and needs to include the name of the insurance company, the dates of coverage, and the amount of liability coverage. It also needs to include the policy number, VIN number of the vehicles covered, the make and model of the vehicles as well as the name of the policy holder and those persons covered as drivers. North Dakota auto insurance requirements must be authorized by a qualified auto insurance company.

Remember that you may need your proof of minimum liability auto insurance at any time. You will definitely need it at the time of registering your car, in the case of involvement in an accident either as the cause of the accident or the victim of the accident, or if you should be stopped for a traffic violation.