New York Auto Insurance

New York Auto Insurance Laws

New York auto insurance laws require you to carry a minimum amount of liability insurance as well as uninsured/underinsured and personal injury protection coverage. You will need to provide proof that you possess the minimum liability auto insurance in order to register your car. In fact, you must have the insurance coverage before you purchase a car in the state of New York. You also carry a motor vehicle insurance identification card with you every time you get in your car. If you do not have this proof of insurance with you, you can be ticketed and fined.

The New York State Department of Revenue and the New York State Department of Insurance are the government agencies you need to present your proof of insurance to. You may also need to contact the Motor Vehicle Division. In order to register your car in New York, you must prove that you have the proper liability auto insurance coverage. All eligible drivers in a household must be covered by the mandatory auto insurance policy. Insurance companies in New York will inform the DMV of every insurance policy they issue as well as every policy which lapses.

Mandatory liability auto insurance is also required on rental vehicles by the state of New York. Your personal auto insurance policy generally covers rental cars but if it does not provide coverage for rental vehicles, you may want to check with the credit card that you used to rent the car. Credit card companies sometimes cover insurance on rental cars. If neither option applies to your situation, you must purchase the minimum liability insurance from the rental company. The rental company insurance will be about $7.00 to $14.00 per day. You must keep the rental agreement in the vehicle throughout the term of the agreement as per New York auto insurance laws. This will be your proof of insurance in case of an accident or traffic stop.

New York Auto Insurance Laws

New York is a No Fault state. For this reason, New York requires that motorists have $50,000.00 of PIP insurance coverage. Your insurance company should pay expenses up to the PIP limits for you and your passengers. You cannot be sued or sue another person unless your injuries are found to be serious. Under the no fault rules each individual’s insurance policy covers their injuries and damages regardless of who is at fault.

You must have proof of New York auto insurance requirements with you at all times. New York’s mandatory minimum liability auto insurance limits are $25,000.00 per individual injury or death, $50,000.00 for all injured persons, and $10,000.00 for damage to property. You are also required to carry $50,000.00 of Personal Injury Protection (PIP). In addition you will be required to carry $25,000.00 of uninsured and $50,000.00 underinsured coverage. Auto insurance policies purchased in New York will include the mandatory liability minimum insurance limits. Collision and comprehensive insurance on your vehicle are not required by the state of New York but the company must offer you the option.

PENALTIES FOR LACK OF INSURANCE

New York requires motorists to be covered by the mandatory liability auto insurance policy at all times. You will not be allowed to register your vehicle without proof of insurance. Should you become involved in an accident or be stopped for a traffic violation and you do not have the required liability policy, you will face license suspension, loss of your vehicle registration and license plates, ticketed, fined and may have your car impounded. Your fines could be as high as $1,500.00 or 15 days of jail time. If you were without insurance for 90 days or less, you will be charged $8.00 to $12.00 for each day you did not have coverage. A civil penalty will also be attached for persons without insurance for 85 days which will cost you $840.00.

PROOF OF INSURANCE

You must produce proof of insurance upon request by the authorities. This proof will be your insurance identification card and needs to include the name of the insurance company, the dates of coverage, and the amount of liability coverage. It also needs to include the policy number, VIN number of the vehicles covered, the make and model of the vehicles as well as the name of the policy holder and those persons covered as drivers, as per New York auto insurance requirements. The auto insurance needs to be authorized by a qualified auto insurance company.

Remember that you may need your proof of minimum liability auto insurance at any time. You will definitely need it at the time of registering your car, in the case of involvement in an accident either as the cause of the accident or the victim of the accident, or if you should be stopped for a traffic violation.