New Hampshire Auto Insurance

New Hampshire Auto Insurance Laws

New Hampshire auto insurance laws do not require you to carry the minimum liability auto insurance although they strongly suggest that you obtain the minimum coverage for your own protection. Drivers who have been convicted of a DWI or who have several traffic violation points on their driving record will be required to obtain the minimum liability insurance. In the case of DWI’s, the first one will require the minimum liability insurance for three years and the second one will require the minimum coverage for five years.

The minimum coverage is $25,000.00 for each individual injured in an accident, $50,000.00 for all injuries in an accident, and $25,000.00 for all property damage caused by an accident. New Hampshire auto insurance requirements say that you have to have $25,000.00/$50,000.00 of uninsured/underinsured coverage. Uninsured and underinsured coverage is not required for individuals with a clean driving record are not required to have uninsured or underinsured coverage.

The minimum liability insurance requirements also apply to rental vehicles. Although the state does not require drivers with clean records to carry the minimum liability insurance coverage, the rental car may request it to protect their asset. In most cases, your rental vehicle will be covered by your personal insurance policy or by the credit card you used to rent the car. If neither one covers rental vehicles, you may purchase the necessary coverage from the rental company for about $7.00 to $14.00 per day.

New Hampshire Auto insurance Laws and Practices

If you are in one of the high risk demographics you will have to carry the minimum liability coverage on the rental vehicle. The options you may have include a loss damage waiver, personal accident and personal effects coverage. Be sure to keep the rental agreement in the vehicle throughout the rental term. This will be your proof of insurance.

New Hampshire does not have penalties in place for individuals who do not carry minimum liability insurance coverage. If your insurance lapses and you get into an accident, the insurance company has the right to refuse your claim, as New Hampshire auto insurance requirements state. On the other hand, if your are required to carry the minimum amount of insurance because of your driving record or a DWI, then a lapsed policy will cost you your driver’s license.

New Hampshire auto insurance laws make it a tort state. This means that the individual who is held responsible for and accident can be sued by other individuals for personal injuries and property damages. You will be responsible for paying medical expenses, loss of wages, and repairs to damaged property. For this reason, it is advisable for you to at least carry the minimum liability insurance coverage. Insurance companies will most likely advise you to carry more than the minimum amount.

You will be notified by the state if you are required to carry the minimum liability insurance coverage, as New Hampshire auto insurance requirements can differ. Likewise, insurance companies will notify the state when you obtain automobile insurance. If your car has a loan out on it, the bank may require you to not only carry the minimum liability insurance but also a comprehensive and collision policy to protect their investment. Insurance is not required on off road vehicles and non-operational non registered vehicles.

PENALTIES

Even though you do not have to carry insurance you must be able to show financial responsibility or the ability to cover the expenses which may incur from an accident. If you cannot provide adequate proof of financial responsibility, you will be required to obtain liability insurance. The expenses from an accident can run into the thousands of dollars and can financially ruin you, so it’s advised to go well and beyond the New Hampshire auto insurance requirements.

Carrying the minimum suggested liability will add a layer of protection for you and your family. Furthermore, if you have a DUI or a bad driving record for traffic violations and you are found to be at fault for an accident, you will be required to have the minimum coverage for one year. The second offense will require the minimum insurance coverage for three years and any further offenses will rise the time to five years, so be sure you’re on the good side the New Hampshire auto insurance laws.

PROOF OF INSURANCE

Proof of insurance will depend upon your personal situation. Any individual who is required to carry the minimum liability insurance due to their driving record will have to have some form of verification from the insurance company. This generally comes in the form of an insurance identification card, a copy of the policy, or other documentation which includes the insurance company’s name, the name of the policy holder, the names of the individuals covered by the policy, the make, model and year of the car, and the VIN number, as required by New Hampshire auto insurance laws.

It will also include the dates of coverage. Individuals who have proven financial responsibility to the state via bonds or other proof that they can pay for any injuries or damages caused by an accident will be sent a document by the state. In all cases, the proof of insurance should be kept in your vehicle at all times.