Nevada Auto Insurance

Nevada Auto Insurance Laws

Nevada auto insurance laws require drivers to provide the minimum mandatory liability auto insurance on any registered vehicle in the state. This insurance must be obtained through an authorized insurance company which has received approval from the state of Nevada. The minimum liability auto insurance coverage in Nevada is $15,000.00 of bodily injury insurance for each individual, $30,000.00 for two or more injured people and $10,000.00 for property damage. Any auto insurance policy purchased in Nevada must include the minimum liability amounts.

Nevada has what is called an insurance verification program (VIP) in place to check up on suspected vehicles which are not covered by the mandatory minimum liability auto insurance. This program is run jointly by the approved insurance companies in the state and the Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles. If your car is identified as being without insurance you will receive insurance verification notice in the mail.

You have 20 days to reply to the notification or have your vehicle’s registration suspended. You will then be required to reinstate your registration with proof of insurance or give up your license plates. You will need to contact Nevada’s online Insurance Verification Response or send the information through the mail.

Nevada Auto Insurance Laws

You must carry proof of insurance with you at all times,, as the Nevada auto insurance laws state. Uninsured and underinsured motorist is not required by Nevada law but the insurance company must offer you the option to purchase this coverage when you buy your minimum coverage. Should you choose not to take this option, you will have to sign a paper stating that you turned down the coverage. Comprehension and collision coverage is not required by the state of Nevada.

Every motorized vehicle on Nevada roads must be covered by the minimum liability coverage, making up for the smallest portion of Nevada auto insurance requirements. This law also applies to rental vehicles. Your insurance policy usually covers rental vehicles. The credit card you use to rent the car may also cover the insurance on the vehicle. If this is not the case, you will have to purchase the minimum liability auto insurance policy from the rental car company. This insurance will run about $7.00 to $14.00 per day. Be sure to carry the rental agreement in the car at all times. This is your proof of insurance should you be involved in an accident or get stopped for a traffic violation.

If you are involved in an accident or experience any type of traffic stop in the state of Nevada, the police officer will request proof of insurance. You must have the proof of insurance even if you are not at fault. The state of Nevada also performs random insurance checks. All suspicious vehicles can be reported for lack of insurance policies in the state electronically by the insurance company, and they will be violated as pursuit to Nevada auto insurance laws. Insurance companies report any insurance cancellations or lapses to the state immediately. Lack of insurance could result in fines, and revocation of your registration. Off-highway vehicles and non-operational vehicles do not require the minimum liability auto insurance.

PENALTIES

The penalties for not carrying current minimum liability auto insurance in the state of Nevada include fines and loss of your registration. The fines for the first offense are $250.00 and could go as high as $1,000.00. If you are caught driving without insurance and you are in an accident, you can lose not only your vehicle’s registration and license plates but also your driver’s license, making not adhering to the Nevada auto insurance laws dangerous. If you drive your car without insurance for a prolonged period of time, you may not be able to get insurance when you decide to purchase a policy.

PROOF OF INSURANCE

Your proof of insurance should be kept in the car at all times. This proof needs to include the name of the insurance company and the policy holder’s name as well as the names of all the drivers covered by the policy, and that’s just to check for clearance of Nevada auto insurance requirements. It also needs to have the make, model, and year of the vehicle being covered on it. The vehicle’s VIN number and the dates of coverage are also required to assure the law enforcement officer that the insurance is current. Acceptable forms of proof are an insurance identification card issued by the state sanctioned insurance company or a copy of the policy itself.