Nebraska Auto Insurance

NEBRASKA MINIMUM INSURANCE REQUIREMENTS

Nebraska auto insurance laws require you to carry a minimum amount of liability insurance. You will need to provide proof that you possess the minimum liability auto insurance to pay for injuries to another person or damages to their property in case of an accident.

The Nebraska State Department of Revenue and the Nebraska State Department of Insurance are the government agencies you need to present your proof of insurance to, as they validate and inform authorities in vehicles who’re under Nebraska auto insurance requirements. You may also need to contact the Motor Vehicle Division. In order to register your car in Nebraska, you must prove that you have the proper liability auto insurance coverage. All eligible drivers in a household must be covered under a liability auto insurance policy.

Mandatory liability auto insurance is also required on rental vehicles by the state of Nebraska, as part of the Nebraska auto insurance laws. Your personal auto insurance policy generally covers rental cars but if it does not provide coverage for rental vehicles, you may want to check with the credit card that you used to rent the car on. Credit card companies sometimes cover insurance on rental cars.

If neither option applies to your situation, you must purchase the minimum liability insurance from the rental company. Their policy will be about $7.00 to $14.00 per day. Keep the rental agreement in the vehicle throughout the term of the agreement. This will be your proof of insurance in case of an accident or traffic stop.

The Basics in Nebraska Auto insurance Laws

Nebraska auto insurance laws make it a Tort state. This means that the individual who is at fault in an accident may be sued by those injured in the accident, or families of those killed in the accident, for pain, suffering, and lost wages. That individual will also be held responsible for all medical expenses connected to the accident.

You must have proof of insurance with you at all times. Nebraska’s mandatory minimum liability auto insurance limits are $25,000.00 per individual injury or death, $50,000.00 for all injured persons, and $25,000.00 for damage to property. Auto insurance policies purchased in Nebraska will include the mandatory liability minimum insurance limits. You will also be required to carry underinsured or uninsured auto insurance coverage in the amounts of $25,000.00 and $50,000.00 respectively. However, you do not have to carry collision and comprehensive insurance on your vehicle but the company must offer you that option, as they aren’t included in the Nebraska auto insurance requirements.

PENALTIES FOR LACK OF INSURANCE

Nebraska requires motorists to be covered by the mandatory liability auto insurance policy at all times. You will not be allowed to register your vehicle without proof of insurance. Should you become involved in an accident or be stopped for a traffic violation and you do not have the required liability policy, your license will be suspended immediately until you produce your proof of insurance, as that’s in violation of Nebraska auto insurance law. Even if the accident is not your fault, you can still be cited for lacking proof of insurance. This will result in fines of $500.00and loss of your license, registration or possibly both. The exemptions to the mandatory liability insurance are off highway vehicles and non-operational vehicles.

PROOF OF INSURANCE

You must produce proof of insurance upon request by the authorities. This proof needs to include the name of the insurance company, the dates of coverage, and the amount of liability coverage. It also needs to include the policy number, VIN number of the vehicles covered, the make, model, and year of the vehicles as well as the name of the policy holder. The auto insurance needs to be authorized by a qualified auto insurance company. Your proof of insurance needs to be a card from the insurance company stating this information, a copy of the actual policy, or documentation from the state which confirms you have proven self insurance capabilities to their satisfaction.

Remember that you may need your proof of minimum liability auto insurance at any time. You will definitely need it at the time of registering your car, in the case of involvement in an accident either as the cause of the accident or the victim of the accident, or if you should be stopped for a traffic violation.