Montana Auto Insurance

Montana Auto Insurance Laws

Montana auto insurance laws require you to carry a minimum amount of liability insurance. You will need to provide proof that you possess the minimum liability auto insurance to pay for injuries to another person or damages to their property in case of an accident. The Montana State Department of Revenue and the Montana State Department of Insurance are the government agencies you need to present your proof of insurance to. You may also need to contact the Motor Vehicle Division. All eligible drivers in a household must be covered under a liability auto insurance policy.

Mandatory liability auto insurance is very important, and constitutes Montana auto insurance laws for rental cars. Your personal auto insurance policy generally covers rental cars but if it does not provide coverage for rental vehicles, you may want to check with the credit card that you used to rent the car on. Credit card companies sometimes cover insurance on rental cars. If neither option applies to your situation, you must purchase the minimum liability insurance from the rental company. This coverage will cost you $7.00 to $14.00 per day. Keep the rental agreement in the vehicle throughout the term of the agreement. This will be your proof of insurance in case of an accident or traffic stop.

The Basics in Montana Auto insurance Laws

Montana is a Torte state. This means that the individual who is at fault in an accident may be sued by those injured in the accident, or families of those killed in the accident, for pain, suffering, and lost wages. That individual will also be held responsible for all medical expenses connected to the accident.

You must have proof of insurance with you at all times. Montana’s mandatory minimum liability auto insurance limits are $25,000.00 per individual injury or death, $50,000.00 for all injured persons, and $10,000.00 for damage to property. Auto insurance policies purchased in Montana will include the mandatory liability minimum insurance limits, as per Montana auto insurance requirements.

However, the state of Montana does not require drivers to carry underinsured or uninsured auto insurance coverage but the insurance company must offer that protection to you when you apply for a policy with their company. Likewise, you do not have to carry collision and comprehensive insurance on your vehicle but the company must offer you that option.

PENALTIES FOR LACK OF INSURANCE

Montana requires motorists to be covered by the mandatory liability auto insurance policy at all times, if not, you’re in violation of the Montana auto insurance laws. Should you become involved in an accident or be stopped for a traffic violation and you do not have the required liability policy, you will be cited as an uninsured motorist. Allowing your insurance coverage to lapse is the same as not having the required insurance coverage. Even if the accident is not your fault, you can still be cited for lacking proof of insurance.

This will result in fines and points being added to your driving record. The penalties will increase with repeat offenses. The exemptions to the mandatory liability insurance are off highway vehicles and non-operational vehicles and motorcycles, and these are exemptions of Montana auto insurance requirements.

Upon the first offense, you may receive fines of $250.00 to $500.00 and a possible jail time of 10 days in the county jail. You may also have 5 points added to your license. If you accrue 30 points on your license you will lose the license. Your second offense will result in a minimum fine of $350.00 and 10 days in jail. Your license will be suspended for 90 days, making it rather unfortunate if you’re not adhering to Montana auto insurance laws.

PROOF OF INSURANCE

You must produce proof of insurance upon request by the authorities. This proof needs to include the name of the insurance company, the dates of coverage, and the amount of liability coverage. It also needs to include the policy number, VIN numbers of the vehicles covered, the make and model of the vehicles as well as the name of the policy holder, and understand, these are vital for anyone driving on the roads to possess these items; not having them is in violation of Montana auto insurance laws. The auto insurance needs to be authorized by a qualified auto insurance company.

Remember that you may need your proof of minimum liability auto insurance at any time. You will need it in the case of involvement in an accident either as the cause of the accident or the victim of the accident, or if you should be stopped for a traffic violation.