Missouri Auto Insurance

Missouri Auto Insurance Laws

Missouri auto insurance laws require you to carry a minimum amount of liability insurance as well as the required amount of uninsured motorist coverage. You will need to provide proof that you possess the minimum liability auto insurance to pay for injuries to another person or damages to their property in case of an accident. Other forms of coverage are surety bonds, real estate bonds, and other types of securities and or proof of self-insurance.

The Missouri State Department of Revenue and the Missouri State Department of Insurance are the government agencies you need to present your proof of insurance to. You may also need to contact the Motor Vehicle Division. In order to register your car in Missouri, you must prove that you have the proper liability auto insurance coverage. All eligible drivers in a household must be covered under a liability auto insurance policy.

Missouri auto insurance laws state that you need liability insurance on rental vehicles by the state. Your personal auto insurance policy generally covers rental cars but if it does not provide coverage for rental vehicles, you may want to check with the credit card that you used to rent the car on. Credit card companies sometimes cover insurance on rental cars. If neither option applies to your situation, you must purchase the minimum liability insurance from the rental company. This insurance will cost you about $7.00 to $14.00 per day. Keep the rental agreement in the vehicle throughout the term of the agreement. This will be your proof of insurance in case of an accident or traffic stop.

Common Missouri Auto insurance Laws

Missouri is a Torte state. This means that the individual who is at fault in an accident may be sued by those injured in the accident, or families of those killed in the accident, for pain, suffering, and lost wages. That individual will also be held responsible for all medical expenses connected to the accident as well as property damages.

You must have proof of insurance with you at all times. Missouri’s mandatory minimum liability auto insurance limits are $25,000.00 per individual injury or death, $50,000.00 for all injured persons, and $10,000.00 for damage to property. Auto insurance policies purchased in Missouri will include the mandatory liability minimum insurance limits, fortunately, that means you don’t have to consider not satisfying Missouri auto insurance requirements. You are also required by the state of Missouri to carry uninsured and underinsured policies in the amounts of $25,000.00 and $50,000.00 to cover damages cause by individuals who do not obey the minimum mandatory liability auto insurance laws. You do not have to carry collision and comprehensive insurance on your vehicle but the company must offer you that option.

PENALTIES FOR LACK OF INSURANCE

Missouri requires motorists to be covered by the mandatory liability auto insurance policy at all times. You will not be allowed to register your vehicle without proof of insurance. Should you become involved in an accident or be stopped for a traffic violation and you do not have the required liability policy, you will be cited as an uninsured motorist. Even if the accident is not your fault, you can still be cited for lacking proof of insurance. This will result in the loss of your license for one year. You will be required to provide proof of financial responsibility for the next three years as well as pay reinstatement fees for your registration.

The uninsured driver citation will remain on your driving record and four points will be added to the record, as the Missouri auto insurance laws state. If you get 8 points added to your driver’s license in 18 months you will lose your license and you will not be allowed to drive in Missouri. The penalties will increase with repeat offenses. The first citation will not suspend your license but the second citation will result in the loss of your license for 90 days.

The third citation will result in the loss of your license for one year. Likewise, the cost of reinstating your license will go up each time. The first time it will cost $20.00, the second time will cost you $200.00 and the third time or all subsequent times will cost $400.00. The exemptions to the mandatory liability insurance are off highway vehicles and non-operational vehicles, as they aren’t necessary in Missouri auto insurance requirements.

PROOF OF INSURANCE

You must produce proof of insurance upon request by the authorities. This proof needs to include the name of the insurance company, the dates of coverage, and the amount of liability coverage. If not, you’ll be violating Missouri auto insurance requirements and the law. It also needs to include the policy number, VIN number of the vehicles covered, the make and model of the vehicles as well as the name of the policy holder. The auto insurance needs to be authorized by a qualified auto insurance company, as they are generally the only ones capable of following Missouri auto insurance requirements. The various accepted forms of proof of insurance are an insurance identification card, a motor vehicle liability insurance binder, policy, or the receipt showing the policy information, a financial responsibility card, or a self-insured identification card issued by the state of Missouri Department of Revenue.

Remember that you may need your proof of minimum liability auto insurance at any time. You will definitely need it at the time of registering your car, in the case of involvement in an accident either as the cause of the accident or the victim of the accident, or if you should be stopped for a traffic violation.