Minnesota Auto Insurance

Minnesota Auto Insurance Laws

Minnesota auto insurance laws require you to carry a minimum amount of liability insurance. You will need to provide proof that you possess the minimum liability auto insurance to pay for injuries to another person or damages to their property in case of an accident.

The Minnesota State Department of Revenue and the Minnesota State Department of Insurance are the government agencies you need to present your proof of insurance to. You may also need to contact the Motor Vehicle Division to get everything squared away to assure you’re in conjunction with the Minnesota auto insurance requirements. In order to register your car in Minnesota, you must prove that you have the proper liability auto insurance coverage. All eligible drivers in a household must be covered under a liability auto insurance policy.

Mandatory liability auto insurance is also required on rental vehicles by the state of Minnesota. In Minnesota, you are required to have $35,000.00 of coverage for property damage and loss of use. This coverage is written without a deductible.

Minnesota Auto insurance Laws and Other Practices

Your personal auto insurance policy generally covers rental cars but if it does not provide coverage for rental vehicles, you may want to check with the credit card that you used to rent the car on. Credit card companies sometimes cover insurance on rental cars. If neither option applies to your situation, you must purchase the minimum liability insurance from the rental company. The policy from the rental car company will run about $7.00 to $14.00 per day. Keep the rental agreement in the vehicle throughout the term of the agreement, as this will save you time and assure you’re in regard of the Minnesota auto insurance laws.

This will be your proof of insurance in case of an accident or traffic stop. If you waive the coverage from the insurance company, a waiver must be attached to your rental agreement. It must also include the purchase of the collision damage waiver. The person renting the vehicle must sign a paper stating that they have read the consumer protection notice at the time of the rental agreement.

Minnesota Auto Insurance Requirements & Law

Minnesota is a No Fault state. No Fault means that persons injured in an accident cannot sue for personal injuries or damages. Each individual’s policy covers their damages and injuries to all persons in their vehicle.

You must have proof of insurance with you at all times. Minnesota’s mandatory minimum liability auto insurance limits are $30,000.00 per individual injury or death, $60,000.00 for all injured persons, and $10,000.00 for damage to property. Auto insurance policies purchased in Minnesota will include the mandatory liability minimum insurance limits.

Minnesota auto insurance laws state that you need to carry uninsured and underinsured as well as Personal Injury Protection. The amount of Uninsured is $25,000.00 per person and $50,000.00 per accident. Underinsured is $25,000.00 per person and $50,000.00 per accident. The PIP coverage is $40,000.00 per person per accident, $20,000.00 for hospital and medical expenses, and $20,000.00 for lost wages, replacement services. You do not have to carry collision and comprehensive insurance on your vehicle but the company must offer you that option.

PENALTIES FOR LACK OF INSURANCE

Minnesota requires motorists to be covered by the mandatory liability auto insurance policy at all times. Driving a vehicle in Minnesota without proper insurance is illegal. Your first violation is considered a misdemeanor and all successive violations within the next ten years are considered a gross misdemeanor. You will not be allowed to register your vehicle without proof of insurance.

Should you become involved in an accident or be stopped for a traffic violation and you do not have the required liability policy, you will be cited as an uninsured motorist. Even if the accident is not your fault, you can still be cited for lacking proof of insurance. This will result in fines as the driver wasn’t in accordance with Minnesota auto insurance laws. The exemptions to the mandatory liability insurance are off highway vehicles and non-operational vehicles. Some jurisdictions may allow you to present your proof of insurance to the assigned court before the appointed court date. You may still have to pay a fine of $250.00 to $1,000.00 as well as a possible loss of your driver’s license and vehicle registration. You may also receive a 90 day jail sentence.

PROOF OF INSURANCE

You must produce proof of insurance upon request by the authorities, if not; you may as well not have the Minnesota auto insurance requirements. This proof needs to include the name of the insurance company, the dates of coverage, and the amount of liability coverage. It also needs to include the policy number, VIN number of the vehicles covered, the make and model of the vehicles as well as the name of the policy holder. The auto insurance needs to be authorized by a qualified auto insurance company. In Minnesota, the proper proof of insurance includes insurance identification cards, a written statement from the insurance company itself, or a copy of the current insurance policy.

Remember that you may need your proof of minimum liability auto insurance at any time. You will definitely need it at the time of registering your car, in the case of involvement in an accident either as the cause of the accident or the victim of the accident, or if you should be stopped for a traffic violation.