Michigan Auto Insurance

Michigan Auto Insurance Laws

Michigan auto insurance laws require you to carry a minimum amount of liability insurance. You will need to provide proof that you possess the minimum liability auto insurance to pay for injuries to another person or damages to their property in case of an accident. In Michigan, this requires you to carry the Michigan No Fault Insurance Certificate with you every time you get in your car. It is mandatory that you have this proof of insurance with you at all times. Failure to do so may result in suspended plates, registration, and driver’s license as well as fines.

The Michigan State Department of Revenue and the Michigan State Department of Insurance are the government agencies you need to present your proof of insurance to. You may also need to contact the Secretary of the State of Michigan. In order to register your car in Michigan, you must prove that you have the proper liability auto insurance coverage; failure to do so is in violation of Michigan auto insurance laws. All eligible drivers in a household must be covered under a liability auto insurance policy. Insurance is required on all personal vehicles, vans, motorcycles and small trucks before they can be registered.

Mandatory liability auto insurance is also required on rental vehicles by the state of Michigan. Your personal auto insurance policy generally covers rental cars but if it does not provide coverage for rental vehicles, you may want to check with the credit card that you used to rent the car. Credit card companies sometimes cover insurance on rental cars.

Further Information on Maryland Auto insurance Requirements

If neither option applies to your situation, you must purchase the minimum liability insurance from the rental company. This coverage usually runs $7.00 to $14.00 per day, in accordance in Michigan auto insurance laws. You must keep the rental agreement in the vehicle throughout the term of the agreement. This will be your proof of insurance in case of an accident or traffic stop. Michigan is a No Fault state in regards to personal injury. Each individual’s insurance coverage will pay for their own injuries and damages regardless of who is at fault.

You must have proof of insurance with you at all times if you’re going to satisfy the Michigan auto insurance laws. Maryland auto insurance requirements mean mandatory minimum liability auto insurance limits are $20,000.00 per individual injury or death, $40,000.00 for all injured persons, and $10,000.00 for damage to property. You may also choose to carry $1,000.00 of Personal Injury Protection (PIP). Auto insurance policies purchased in Michigan will include the mandatory liability minimum insurance limits.

However, the state of Michigan does not require drivers to carry underinsured or uninsured auto insurance coverage but the insurance company must offer that protection to you when you apply for a policy with their company. If you elect to forgo the uninsured coverage, you will be required to sign a paper stating that you chose to reject this coverage. Likewise, you do not have to carry collision and comprehensive insurance on your vehicle but the company must offer you that option.

PENALTIES FOR LACK OF INSURANCE

Michigan auto insurance requirements state that motorists to be covered by the mandatory liability auto insurance policy at all times. You will not be allowed to register your vehicle without proof of insurance. Should you become involved in an accident or be stopped for a traffic violation and you do not have the required liability policy, you will be ticketed and fined $200.00 to $500.00. You may also lose your license plates, have your driver’s license and registration revoked and serve one year in jail. You will also be required to prove you have liability coverage in the appropriate amounts for the next six months and pay a $50.00 fee as well as other fees. Even if the accident is not your fault, you can still be cited for lacking proof of insurance. The exemptions to the mandatory liability insurance are off highway vehicles and non- operational vehicles which are also not registered.

PROOF OF INSURANCE

You must produce proof of insurance upon request by the authorities. This proof will be your insurance No Fault Certificate and needs to include the name of the insurance company, the dates of coverage, and the amount of liability coverage. It also needs to include the policy number, VIN number of the vehicles covered, the make and model of the vehicles as well as the name of the policy holder and those persons covered as drivers. The auto insurance needs to be authorized by a qualified auto insurance company.

Remember that you may need your proof of minimum liability auto insurance at any time. You will definitely need it at the time of registering your car, in the case of involvement in an accident either as the cause of the accident or the victim of the accident, or if you should be stopped for a traffic violation.