Massachusetts Auto Insurance

Massachusetts Auto Insurance Laws

Massachusetts state laws require you to carry a minimum amount of liability insurance. It makes no difference if you drive a moped or a luxury car; you must have the minimum required liability insurance to operate the vehicle on Massachusetts public roads. You will need to provide proof that you possess the minimum liability auto insurance to pay for injuries to another person or damages to their property in case of an accident. If you do not have this proof of insurance with you, you can be ticketed and fined. In order to register your car in Massachusetts, you must prove that you have the proper liability auto insurance coverage. You do not have to insure off road vehicles and those vehicles which are not operational and therefore not required to be registered.

All eligible drivers in a household must be covered under a liability auto insurance policy. This includes anyone who may drive your car including individuals living in your home who have their own insurance policies. They should be listed as “deferred operators.” Listing them on your policy will not increase your premiums but if you do not list them as a “customary operator” and they are involved in an accident with your vehicle, the insurance company will not be obligated to pay the claim.

The insurance company may refuse to pay if they are present in the vehicle when you get in an accident. To exclude individuals who do not drive your car, you will be required to fill out an exclusion form for the insurance company. Teenage drivers with Learner’s Permits are not required to be listed until they obtain their full license.

Mandatory liability auto insurance is also required on rental vehicles by the state, as per specifications of Massachusetts auto insurance requirements. Your personal auto insurance policy generally covers rental cars but if it does not provide coverage for rental vehicles, you may want to check with the credit card that you used to rent the car. Credit card companies sometimes cover insurance on rental cars. If neither option applies to your situation, you must purchase the minimum liability insurance from the rental company. You must keep the rental agreement in the vehicle throughout the term of the agreement. This will be your proof of insurance in case of an accident or traffic stop. The rental car minimum liability insurance will be about $7.00 to $14.00 per day.

Massachusetts Auto insurance Laws

Massachusetts auto insurance laws make it a No Fault state. For this reason, Massachusetts requires that motorists have $8,000.00 of PIP insurance coverage. Your insurance company should pay expenses up to the PIP limits for you and your passengers. Massachusetts’s mandatory minimum liability auto insurance limits are $20,000.00 per individual injury or death, $40,000.00 for all injured persons, and $15,000.00 for damage to property. You are also required to carry $8,000.00 of Personal Injury Protection (PIP). Auto insurance policies purchased in Massachusetts will include the mandatory liability minimum insurance limits.

However, the state of Massachusetts does not require drivers to carry underinsured or uninsured auto insurance coverage but the insurance company must offer that protection to you when you apply for a policy with their company. If you elect to forgo the uninsured coverage, you will be required to sign a paper stating that you chose to reject this coverage, as Massachusetts auto insurance law dictates. Likewise, you do not have to carry collision and comprehensive insurance on your vehicle but the company must offer you that option.

PENALTIES FOR LACK OF INSURANCE

Massachusetts auto insurance laws require motorists to be covered by the mandatory liability auto insurance policy at all times. You will not be allowed to register your vehicle without proof of insurance. A lapse in your auto insurance policy is the same as not having the required minimum liability insurance. Should you become involved in an accident or be stopped for a traffic violation and you do not have the required liability policy, you will lose your license and pay hefty fines. Even if the accident is not your fault, you can still be cited for a lack of proof of insurance.

Your fines will be at least $500.00 to $5,000.00 or you may be put in jail for one year, a lot to undergo if found in violation of Massachusetts auto insurance laws. You could possibly receive both penalties. The law also states that your fine will be $500.00 or the amount of one year’s mandatory premium in the highest premium rate area and risk factors at the time of the arrest. Your license can be suspended for 60 days as well as the suspension of your registration and tags.

PROOF OF INSURANCE

You must produce proof of insurance upon request by the authorities. This proof will be your insurance identification card and needs to include the name of the insurance company, the dates of coverage, and the amount of liability coverage. It also needs to include the policy number, VIN number of the vehicles covered, the make and model of the vehicles as well as the name of the policy holder and those persons covered as drivers. Massachusetts auto insurance requirements must be conducted by a qualified auto insurance company.

Remember that you may need your proof of minimum liability auto insurance at any time. You will definitely need it at the time of registering your car, in the case of involvement in an accident either as the cause of the accident or the victim of the accident, or if you should be stopped for a traffic violation.