Maryland Auto Insurance

Maryland Auto Insurance Laws

Maryland auto insurance laws require drivers to provide the minimum mandatory liability auto insurance on any registered vehicle in the state. This insurance must be obtained through an authorized insurance company which has received approval from the state of Maryland.

No vehicle will be registered in the state of Maryland without proof of the minimum liability auto insurance. The minimum liability auto insurance coverage in Maryland is $20,000.00 of bodily injury insurance for each individual, $40,000.00 for two or more injured people and $15,000.00 for property damage. You must also carry a minimum of $20,000.00 of uninsured and $40,000.00 of underinsured coverage in the state of Maryland. In addition you are required to carry a minimum of $2,500.00 of PIP insurance, as per Maryland auto insurance requirements. Any auto insurance policy purchased in Maryland must include the minimum liability amounts. Comprehension and collision coverage is not required by the state of Maryland.

Maryland Auto Insurance Laws

Every motorized vehicle on Maryland roads must be covered by the minimum liability coverage. This law also applies to rental vehicles. Your insurance policy usually covers rental vehicles. The credit card you use to rent the car may also cover the insurance on the vehicle. If this is not the case, you will have to purchase the minimum liability auto insurance policy from the rental car company. The insurance coverage from the rental company will run $7.00 to $14.00 per day. Be sure to carry the rental agreement in the car at all times. This is your proof of insurance should you be involved in an accident or get stopped for a traffic violation.

If you are involved in an accident or experience any type of traffic stop in the state of Maryland, the police officer will request proof of insurance, as per Maryland auto insurance laws. You must have the proof of insurance even if you are not at fault. Lack of insurance could result in fines, loss of your license and revocation of your registration. Vehicle which do not require the minimum liability auto insurance are off road vehicles, non-operational non registered vehicles. You must obtain the minimum insurance before you register your car. You will not be allowed to register your car without proof of insurance. There is no wait time allowed for you to insure your vehicle.

PENALTIES

The penalties for not carrying current minimum liability auto insurance in the state of Maryland include fines, loss of your license plates and registration. You will be required to pay uninsured motorist penalties in the amount of $150.00 for the first 30 days with $7.00 added for each day you go past the 30 days. You will also have to pay a $25.00 vehicle registration restoration fee. As one would expect, this would be in violation of Maryland auto insurance laws. You will lose your license plates and vehicle registration. You may not be able to register a car in the state of Maryland until you have taken care of your insurance violations in addition to the loss of your plates and registration. You may also find yourself facing a $1,000.00 fine and a one year prison sentence if you fail to comply with the state minimum liability Maryland insurance laws.

PROOF OF INSURANCE

Your proof of insurance should be kept in the car at all times, be sure that it’s up to the standards of the Maryland auto insurance requirements. This proof needs to include the name of the insurance company and the policy holder’s name. It also needs to have the make, model, and year of the vehicle being covered on it. The vehicle’s VIN number and the dates of coverage are also required to assure the law enforcement officer that the insurance is current. The insurance company should supply the necessary documentation for proof of coverage. Keep this documentation in the glove compartment of the car to be sure you are covered in the case of a traffic stop.