Maine Auto Insurance

Maine Auto Insurance Laws

Maine auto insurance laws require you to carry a minimum amount of liability insurance. You will need to provide proof that you possess the minimum liability auto insurance to pay for injuries to another person or damages to their property in case of an accident.

The Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicle Division is the government agency you need to present your proof of insurance to. The BMV will be notified via the Electronic Notification of Insurance Cancellation Program put in by the state in 2005 by the insurance company if your coverage lapses. You will have 30 days to rectify the situation by producing proof of a replacement policy by phone, online, by fax or in person. If you do not contact the BMV with the pertinent information, your registration and license plates may be suspended, as a failure in Maine auto insurance requirements. All eligible drivers in a household must be covered under a liability auto insurance policy.

Mandatory liability auto insurance is also required on rental vehicles by the state of Maine in order to register your vehicle. A failure to forego it is in violation of the Maine auto insurance laws. Your personal auto insurance policy generally covers rental cars but if it does not provide coverage for rental vehicles, you may want to check with the credit card that you used to rent the car on.

Maine Auto Insurance Requirements and Laws

Credit card companies sometimes cover insurance on rental cars. If neither option applies to your situation, you must purchase the minimum liability insurance from the rental company for about $7.00 to $14.00 per day. Keep the rental agreement in the vehicle throughout the term of the agreement. This will be your proof of insurance in case of an accident or traffic stop.

Maine auto insurance laws make it a Torte state. This means that the individual who is at fault in an accident may be sued by those injured in the accident, or families of those killed in the accident, for pain, suffering, and lost wages. That individual will also be held responsible for all medical expenses connected to the accident.

You must have proof of insurance with you at all times. Maine’s mandatory minimum liability auto insurance limits are $50,000.00 per individual injury or death, $100,000.00 for all injured persons, and $25,000.00 for damage to property. Auto insurance policies purchased in Maine will include the mandatory liability minimum insurance limits.

The state does require drivers to carry underinsured or uninsured auto insurance coverage as its basics in Maine auto insurance requirements. The amount of the uninsured and underinsured policies must equal the bodily injury limits of $50,000.00 and $100,000.00. You will also be required to carry $1,000.00 for medical payments. You do not have to carry collision and comprehensive insurance on your vehicle but the company should offer you that option.

PENALTIES FOR LACK OF INSURANCE

Maine auto insurance laws require motorists to be covered by the mandatory liability auto insurance policy at all times. Should you become involved in an accident or be stopped for a traffic violation and you do not have the required liability policy, you will be cited as an uninsured motorist. Even if the accident is not your fault, you can still be cited for lacking proof of insurance. This will result in fines and loss of your driver’s license, registration and plates. The penalties will increase with repeat offenses. The exemptions to the mandatory liability insurance are off highway vehicles and non-operational non registered vehicles.

The fines for not carrying proof of insurance are classed as a Class E crime in Maine. The penalties are a $100.00 to $500.00 fine, pay a $35.00 reinstatement fee, and suspend your license and vehicle registration, which can become expensive if you’re not satisfying the Maine auto insurance requirements. You will have to provide the BMV with proof of insurance or financial responsibility before receiving your license and registration back. You may also be required to fulfill other requirements such as a restricted license for an allotted period of time.

PROOF OF INSURANCE

You must produce proof of insurance upon request by the authorities, as the Maine auto insurance laws clearly state. This proof needs to include the name of the insurance company, the dates of coverage, and the amount of liability coverage. It also needs to include the policy number, VIN number of the vehicles covered, the make and model of the vehicles as well as the name of the policy holder. The auto insurance needs to be authorized by a qualified auto insurance company. In Maine, the proof you need to carry in your car is the insurance card the company sends you each time you renew your policy.

Remember that you may need your proof of minimum liability auto insurance at any time. You will definitely need it in the case of involvement in an accident either as the cause of the accident or the victim of the accident, or if you should be stopped for a traffic violation.