Louisiana Auto Insurance

Louisiana Auto Insurance Laws

Louisiana auto insurance laws require drivers to provide the minimum mandatory liability auto insurance on any registered vehicle in the state. This insurance must be obtained through an authorized insurance company which has received approval from the state of Louisiana.

No vehicle will be registered in the state of Louisiana without proof of the minimum liability auto insurance. In fact, you may not be able to get or renew your driver’s license without proof of the minimum insurance coverage. The minimum liability auto insurance coverage in Louisiana is $15,000.00 of bodily injury insurance for each individual, $30,000.00 for two or more injured people and $25,000.00 for property damage. Any auto insurance policy purchased in Louisiana must include the minimum liability amounts, as per Louisiana auto insurance requirements state.

You must carry proof of insurance with you at all times. Uninsured and underinsured motorist is not required by Louisiana law but the insurance company must offer you the option to purchase this coverage when you buy your minimum coverage. Should you choose not to take this option, you will have to sign a paper stating that you turned down the coverage. Comprehension and collision coverage is not required by the state of Louisiana.

Additional Information Regarding Louisiana Auto Insurance Laws

Every motorized vehicle on Louisiana roads must be covered by the minimum liability coverage. The Louisiana auto insurance laws also apply to rental vehicles. Your insurance policy usually covers rental vehicles. The credit card you use to rent the car may also cover the insurance on the vehicle. If this is not the case, you will have to purchase the minimum liability auto insurance policy from the rental car company. Be sure to carry the rental agreement in the car at all times. If not, you’re subject to violations in Louisiana auto insurance laws. This is your proof of insurance should you be involved in an accident or get stopped for a traffic violation. The coverage provided by the rental company will run approximately $7.00 to $14.00 per day.

If you are involved in an accident or experience any type of traffic stop in the state of Louisiana, the police officer will request proof of insurance. You must have the proof of insurance even if you are not at fault. All insurance policies in the state are reported electronically by the insurance company as well as any lapses in policy coverage. Lack of insurance could result in fines, loss of your registration as well as other penalties. So, it’s best to make sure that you’re adhering to Louisiana auto insurance requirements. You may be required to show proof of insurance if you are pulled over for a traffic violation, when you apply for a registration or renew a driver’s license.

Following Louisiana Auto Insurance Requirements

You must obtain the minimum insurance before you register your car. You will not be allowed to register your car without proof of insurance. If your insurance policy is cancelled for any reason, you must present proof of new coverage which is effective within 10 days of the cancellation date. If the insurance was cancelled because you moved out of state, you sold the vehicle or the vehicle was junked, you must provide the state with proof of the event. After the 10 day period you will be charged $50.00.

If you do not supply the state with the appropriate proof within 30 days the fine will become $125.00 and after 90 days it will increase to $225.00. The exceptions to the minimum mandatory liability insurance are off road vehicles, non-operational non registered vehicles, parade or display vehicles, vehicles owned by a government agency, and city buses. Considering that most people aren’t exceptions to that rule, it’s important to register quickly to avoid assorted penalties for Louisiana auto insurance requirements.

PENALTIES

The penalties for not carrying current minimum liability auto insurance in the state of Louisiana will result in the confiscation of your vehicle or the placement of a yellow tag in your back window which indicates your lack of insurance proof to other police officers. Your license plate tags will also be taken. You will have three days to present proof of insurance to the state in order to retrieve your tags or vehicle. If you fail to provide the proof or you do not comply with the state laws, then you will be given fines, penalties and the suspension of your registration. Your vehicle will be taken and you will have to pay reinstatement fees of $50.00 and towing costs as well as provide proof of insurance to get your car back, according to the Louisiana auto insurance laws. You will face a $75.00 to $100.00 fine the first time, $100.00 to $250.00 fine the second time and a fine of up to $700.00 for each additional time you are caught without proof of insurance.

PROOF OF INSURANCE

Your proof of insurance should be kept in the car at all times, at least with the minimum Louisiana auto insurance requirements. This proof needs to include the name of the insurance company and the policy holder’s name. It also needs to have the make, model, and year of the vehicle being covered on it. The vehicle’s VIN number and the dates of coverage are also required to assure the law enforcement officer that the insurance is current. Acceptable forms of proof of insurance are your insurance card or binder, I.D. card issued by your insurance company, your declaration page, or a written statement from the insurance company.