Kentucky Auto Insurance

Kentucky Auto Insurance Laws

Kentucky auto insurance laws require you to carry a minimum amount of liability insurance. You will need to provide proof that you possess the minimum liability auto insurance to pay for injuries to another person or damages to their property in case of an accident. In Kentucky, this requires you to carry a motor vehicle insurance identification card with you every time you get in your car. If you do not have this proof of insurance with you, you can be ticketed and fined.

The Kentucky State Department of Revenue and the Kentucky State Department of Insurance are the government agencies you need to present your proof of insurance to, as they all promote that everyone’s following the Kansas auto insurance requirements. You may also need to contact the Motor Vehicle Division. In order to register your car in Kentucky, you must prove that you have the proper liability auto insurance coverage. All eligible drivers in a household must be covered under a liability auto insurance policy. Insurance is not required on off highway vehicles or non-registered, non-operational vehicles.

Mandatory liability auto insurance is also required on rental vehicles by the state of Kentucky. Your personal auto insurance policy generally covers rental cars but if it does not provide coverage for rental vehicles, you may want to check with the credit card that you used to rent the car. Credit card companies sometimes cover insurance on rental cars. If neither option applies to your situation, you must purchase the minimum liability insurance from the rental company, as per Kentucky auto insurance laws. Their policy will generally be $7.00 to $14.00 per day. You must keep the rental agreement in the vehicle through out the term of the agreement. This will be your proof of insurance in case of an accident or traffic stop.

Examining Kentucky Auto insurance Laws

Kentucky is a Choice No Fault state. Drivers in the state of Kentucky may refuse the No Fault option and choose to keep their right to sue another individual in under the Tort system for any injuries or deaths as a result of an auto accident. Motorists in the state of Kentucky have the option to purchase the $10,000.00 limit of PIP insurance coverage. In the case of an individual who chooses the Tort system, the individual at fault will be held responsible for expenses related to loss of wages, suffering, and death.

You must have proof of insurance with you at all times. Kentucky’s auto insurance requirements include liability auto insurance limits to at least $25,000.00 per individual injury or death, $50,000.00 for all injured persons, and $10,000.00 for damage to property. You may also carry $10,000.00 of Personal Injury Protection (PIP) if you choose the No Fault system of insurance. You also have the option to carry a “single limit plan” of $60,000.00 liability auto insurance. Auto insurance policies purchased in Kentucky will include the mandatory liability minimum insurance limits.

However, the state of Kentucky does not require drivers to carry underinsured or uninsured auto insurance coverage but the insurance company must offer that protection to you when you apply for a policy with their company. Kentucky auto insurance laws state that if you elect to forgo the uninsured coverage, you will be required to sign a paper stating that you chose to reject this coverage. Likewise, you do not have to carry collision and comprehensive insurance on your vehicle but the company must offer you that option.

PENALTIES FOR LACK OF INSURANCE

Kentucky requires motorists to be covered by the mandatory liability auto insurance policy at all times, the adverse is in violation of Kentucky auto insurance laws. Kentucky does not allow any grace period for lapsed insurance policies. You will not be allowed to register your vehicle without proof of insurance. Should you become involved in an accident or be stopped for a traffic violation and you do not have the required liability policy, you will be ticketed and fined $500.00 to $1,000.00 as well as losing your license and vehicle registration. You may also be sentenced to 90 days of jail time. Even if the accident is not your fault, you can still be cited for lacking proof of insurance.

PROOF OF INSURANCE

The insurance companies notify the state via internet of your insurance coverage but you must produce proof of insurance upon request by the authorities, being sure to possess at least the Kentucky auto insurance requirements. This proof will be your insurance identification card and needs to include the name of the insurance company, the dates of coverage, and the amount of liability coverage. It also needs to include the policy number, VIN number of the vehicles covered, the make and model of the vehicles as well as the name of the policy holder and those persons covered as drivers. The auto insurance needs to be authorized by a qualified auto insurance company.

Remember that you may need your proof of minimum liability auto insurance at any time, so it’s best to keep abreast with Kentucky auto insurance laws, as going without it is dangerous. You will definitely need it at the time of registering your car, in the case of involvement in an accident either as the cause of the accident or the victim of the accident, or if you should be stopped for a traffic violation.