Kansas Auto Insurance

Kansas Auto Insurance Laws

Kansas auto insurance laws require you to carry a minimum amount of liability insurance. You will need to provide proof that you possess the minimum liability auto insurance to pay for injuries to another person or damages to their property in case of an accident.

The Kansas State Department of Revenue and the Kansas State Department of Insurance are the government agencies you need to present your proof of insurance to. You may also need to contact the Motor Vehicle Division. In order to operate your car in Kansas, you must prove that you have the requisite Kansas auto insurance requirements. All eligible drivers in a household must be covered under a liability auto insurance policy.

Mandatory liability auto insurance is also required on rental vehicles by the state of Kansas. Your personal auto insurance policy generally covers rental cars but if it does not provide coverage for rental vehicles, you may want to check with the credit card that you used to rent the car on. Credit card companies sometimes cover insurance on rental cars. If neither option applies to your situation, you must purchase the minimum liability insurance from the rental company. This insurance will generally be $7.00 to $14.00 per day. Keep the rental agreement in the vehicle through out the term of the agreement. This will be your proof of insurance in case of an accident or traffic stop.

Understanding Kansas Auto Insurance Laws

Kansas auto insurance laws classify it as a No Fault state. For this reason, Kansas will require you to carry uninsured and underinsured coverage as well as personal injury protection. (PIP) You must have proof of insurance with you at all times. Kansas’ mandatory minimum liability auto insurance limits are $25,000.00 per individual injury or death, $50,000.00 for all injured persons, and $10,000.00 for damage to property. You will also be required to have uninsured and underinsured coverage in the amounts of$25,000.00 per person and $50,000.00 per accident.

In addition to this coverage, your policy must include personal injury protection (PIP) of $4,500.00 medical coverage per person, disability or loss of income coverage of $900.00 per month for one year, $25.00 per day for in home care, funeral and burial expenses of $2,000.00, and $4,500.00 for rehabilitation expenses, making Kansas auto insurance laws a bit more on the extensive side. You must also carry $900.00 per month of survivor benefits for disability and loss of income for one year and $25.00 per day for home care up to one year in time. Auto insurance policies purchased in Kansas will include the mandatory liability minimum insurance limits. You do not have to carry collision and comprehensive insurance on your vehicle but the company must offer you that option.

PENALTIES FOR LACK OF INSURANCE

Kansas auto insurance requirements state that motorists must be covered by the mandatory liability auto insurance policy at all times. This proof is required at the registration of your vehicle, traffic stops and at the scene of accident whether you are at fault or not. Should you become involved in an accident or be stopped for a traffic violation and you do not have the required liability policy, you will be cited as an uninsured motorist. Even if the accident is not your fault, you can still be cited for lacking proof of insurance. This will result in fines and possible jail time. The penalties will increase with repeat offenses. The exemptions to the mandatory liability insurance are off highway vehicles and non operational non registered vehicles.

Your first offense will result in a class B misdemeanor and you will be charged $300.00 to $1,000.00 in fines, a hefty price to pay in violation of Kansas auto insurance laws. If you do not pay your fine you will serve 6 months in the county jail. With the second offense you will be charged with a class A misdemeanor and fined $800.00 to $2,500.00. Your registration and driver’s license will be suspended. You will have to show the court proof of financial responsibility (SR-22) and pay reinstatement fees for your license and registration.

PROOF OF INSURANCE

You must produce proof of insurance upon request by the authorities. This proof needs to include the name of the insurance company, the dates of coverage, and the amount of liability coverage, just enough to satisfy Kansas auto insurance requirements. It also needs to include the policy number, VIN number of the vehicles covered, the make and model of the vehicles as well as the name of the policy holder. This is usually a card supplied by the insuring company stating that you have adequate coverage. It needs to be kept in your car at all times. The auto insurance needs to be authorized by a qualified auto insurance company.

Remember that you may need your proof of minimum liability auto insurance at any time, not doing so violates Kansas auto insurance laws. You will definitely need it at the time of registering your car, in the case of involvement in an accident either as the cause of the accident or the victim of the accident, or if you should be stopped for a traffic violation.