Idaho Auto Insurance

Idaho Auto Insurance Laws

Idaho auto insurance laws require you to carry a minimum amount of liability insurance. You will need to sign a paper stating that you have insurance or are in the process of obtaining the insurance required by the laws of Idaho. Lack of insurance can result in the loss of your driver’s license. The Idaho State Department of Revenue and the Idaho State Department of Insurance are the government agencies you need to present your proof of insurance to. You may also need to contact the Motor Vehicle Division. Even vehicles which are not registered are required to have the minimum liability coverage, as per Idaho auto insurance requirements. Vehicles which do not require the minimum insurance are off-road vehicles and non-registered vehicles which are not in operating order.

Mandatory liability auto insurance is also required on rental vehicles by the state of Idaho. Your personal auto insurance policy generally covers rental cars but if it does not provide coverage for rental vehicles, you may want to check with the credit card that you used to rent the car. Credit card companies sometimes cover insurance on rental cars.

If neither option applies to your situation, you must purchase the minimum liability insurance from the rental company. Car rental companies are mandated to offer the minimum liability coverage when they rent vehicles, as Idaho auto insurance law dictates. Insurance coverage from the rental company will cost from $7.00 to $14.00 per day. Keep the rental agreement in the vehicle through=out the term of the agreement. This will be your proof of insurance in case of an accident or traffic stop.

Idaho is a Torte state. This means that the individual who is at fault in an accident may be sued by those injured in the accident, or families of those killed in the accident, for pain, suffering, and lost wages. That individual will also be held responsible for all medical expenses connected to the accident.

You must have proof of insurance with you at all times. Idaho’s mandatory minimum liability auto insurance limits are $25,000.00 per individual injury or death, $50,000.00 for all injured persons, and $15,000.00 for damage to property – all just to satisfy Idaho auto insurance requirements at a minimal level. Auto insurance policies purchased in Idaho after January 2009 must include underinsured or uninsured auto insurance coverage unless the policy holder has rejected the coverage in writing.

The refusal for underinsured and uninsured coverage will continue to be applied to renewal and replacement policies unless the policy holder specifically changes it in writing. Underinsured and uninsured coverage cannot be less than the amounts required by Idaho state law. You do not have to carry collision and comprehensive insurance on your vehicle but the company must offer you that option.

PENALTIES FOR LACK OF INSURANCE

Idaho auto insurance laws require motorists to be covered by the mandatory liability auto insurance policy at all times. Should you become involved in an accident or be stopped for a traffic violation and you do not have the required liability policy, you will be cited as an uninsured motorist. Even if the accident is not your fault, you can still be cited for lacking proof of insurance.

Under Idaho state law, you will be required to prove financial responsibility for one year upon the first offense. You may also be issued a ticket. A ticket will result in a fine of up to $75.00 and a mark against your driving record. You may also be required to pay more fees by the court. With the second offense you will have to prove financial responsibility for three years.

PROOF OF INSURANCE

You must produce proof of insurance upon request by the authorities, anything else is considered to be violation of Idaho auto insurance laws. This proof will be an insurance identification card issued by a sanctioned insurance company in the state of Idaho and needs to include the name of the insurance company, the dates of coverage, and the amount of liability coverage. It also needs to include the policy number, VIN number of the vehicles covered, the make and model of the vehicles as well as the name of the policy holder.

Remember that you may need your proof of minimum liability auto insurance at any time. You will be required to sign a statement assuring the state that your vehicle is insured or in the process of being insured at the time of registering your car, in the case of involvement in an accident either as the cause of the accident or the victim of the accident, or if you should be stopped for a traffic violation.