Hawaii Auto Insurance

Hawaii Auto Insurance Laws

Hawaii auto insurance laws require you to carry a minimum amount of liability insurance. You will need to provide proof that you possess the minimum liability auto insurance to pay for injuries to another person or damages to their property in case of an accident. In Hawaii, this requires you to carry a motor vehicle insurance identification card with you every time you get in your car. If you do not have this proof of insurance with you, you can be ticketed and fined.

The Hawaii State Department of Revenue and the Hawaii State Department of Insurance are the government agencies you need to present your proof of insurance to. You may also need to contact the Motor Vehicle Division. In order to register your car in Hawaii, you must prove that you have the proper liability auto insurance coverage, covering the Hawaii auto insurance requirements sufficiently. All eligible drivers in a household must be covered under a liability auto insurance policy.

Mandatory liability auto insurance is also required on rental vehicles by the state of Hawaii. Your personal auto insurance policy generally covers rental cars but if it does not provide coverage for rental vehicles, you may want to check with the credit card that you used to rent the car. Credit card companies sometimes cover insurance on rental cars. If neither option applies to your situation, you must purchase the minimum liability insurance from the rental company. You must keep the rental agreement in the vehicle throughout the term of the agreement, if not, you’ll be in violation of the Hawaii auto insurance laws. This will be your proof of insurance in case of an accident or traffic stop. If you decide to go off-roading in your rental vehicle, your insurance will be null and void.

Hawaii Auto Insurance Laws Detailed

Hawaii is a No Fault state in regards to personal injury. For this reason, Hawaii requires that motorists have $10,000.00 of PIP insurance coverage. The no fault rule applies only to bodily injury over $5,000.00. Your insurance company should pay expenses up to the PIP limits for you and your passengers. You cannot be sued or sue another person unless your injuries are found to be serious. The no fault rules do not apply to property damages. The individual at fault will be held responsible for these expenses.

You must have proof of insurance with you at all times. Hawaii’s mandatory minimum liability auto insurance limits are $20,000.00 per individual injury or death, $40,000.00 for all injured persons, and $10,000.00 for damage to property. You are also required to carry $10,000.00 of Personal Injury Protection (PIP) to satisfy the Hawaii auto insurance requirements. Auto insurance policies purchased in Hawaii will include the mandatory liability minimum insurance limits. However, the state of Hawaii does not require drivers to carry underinsured or uninsured auto insurance coverage but the insurance company must offer that protection to you when you apply for a policy with their company.

As per Arizona auto insurance laws, a minimum of $20,000.00 uninsured motorist coverage is required if you choose to obtain this coverage. If you elect to forgo the uninsured coverage, you will be required to sign a paper stating that you chose to reject this coverage. Likewise, you do not have to carry collision and comprehensive insurance on your vehicle but the company must offer you that option.

PENALTIES FOR LACK OF INSURANCE

Choosing not to follow the Hawaii auto insurance laws can amount to steep penalties. Hawaii requires motorists to be covered by the mandatory liability auto insurance policy at all times. You will not be allowed to register your vehicle without proof of insurance. Should you become involved in an accident or be stopped for a traffic violation and you do not have the required liability policy, you will be ticketed and fined up to $500.00. Even if the accident is not your fault, you can still be cited for lacking proof of insurance. The exemptions to the mandatory liability insurance are off highway vehicles and non-operational vehicles which are also not registered.

You may choose to put your vehicle in official storage in the counties of Maui and Hawaii. During the official storage period you will not be required to pay registration renewal fees and taxes. This also applies to vehicles that work but are not currently in use or likely to be used for quite a while such as vehicles belonging to a deployed military person. Failure to obtain the requisite Hawaii auto insurance requirements will result in the loss of your license plate and registration.

PROOF OF INSURANCE

You must produce proof of insurance upon request by the authorities. This proof will be your insurance identification card and needs to include the name of the insurance company, the dates of coverage, and the amount of liability coverage. It also needs to include the policy number, VIN number of the vehicles covered, the make and model of the vehicles as well as the name of the policy holder and those persons covered as drivers, as Hawaii auto insurance laws dictate. The auto insurance needs to be authorized by a qualified auto insurance company.

Remember that you may need your proof of minimum liability auto insurance at any time. You will definitely need it at the time of registering your car, in the case of involvement in an accident either as the cause of the accident or the victim of the accident, or if you should be stopped for a traffic violation.