Georgia Auto Insurance

Georgia Auto Insurance Laws

Georgia auto insurance laws require drivers to provide the minimum mandatory liability auto insurance on any registered vehicle in the state. This insurance must be obtained through an authorized insurance company which has received approval from the state of Georgia. The sanctioned insurance companies in Georgia include American Home Assurance Company, The Cincinnati Indemnity Company, Civic Property and Casualty Company, Electric Insurance Company, Fireman’s Fund Insurance Company, First Acceptance Insurance Company Inc., National Surety Corporation, Southern Guaranty Insurance Company, State Auto National Insurance Company, and State Auto Property and Casualty Insurance Company.

No vehicle will be registered in the state of Georgia without proof of the minimum liability auto insurance. It’s all about meeting Georgia auto insurance, if that’s done – it’s not too much of a problem for most. The minimum liability auto insurance coverage in Georgia is $25,000.00 of bodily injury insurance for each individual, $50,000.00 for two or more injured people and $25,000.00 for property damage. You are not required to carry PIP insurance, uninsured/underinsured, comprehension, or collision coverage. Any auto insurance policy purchased in Georgia must include the minimum liability amounts.

You are not required to carry proof of insurance with you in your vehicle but it would be a good idea to do so. Although uninsured and underinsured motorist is not required by Georgia law but the insurance company must offer you the option to purchase this coverage when you buy your minimum coverage. Should you choose not to take this option, you will have to sign a paper stating that you turned down the coverage.

General Georgia Auto Insurance Requirements

Every motorized vehicle on Georgia roads must be covered by the minimum liability coverage. This law also applies to rental vehicles. Your insurance policy usually covers rental vehicles. The credit card you use to rent the car may also cover the insurance on the vehicle. If this is not the case, you will have to purchase the minimum liability auto insurance policy from the rental car company. This coverage will cost from $7.00 per day to $14.00 per day. Be sure to carry the rental agreement in the car at all times. This is your proof of insurance should you be involved in an accident or get stopped for a traffic violation.

If you are involved in an accident or experience any type of traffic stop in the state of Georgia, the police officer may request proof of insurance even if you are not at fault, as Georgia state auto insurance dictates. Your insurance card or a copy of your declaration page will be sufficient proof of insurance. All insurance policies in the state are reported electronically by the insurance company as well as any lapses in policy coverage. Lack of insurance could result in fines, loss of your license and revocation of your registration.

You must obtain the minimum insurance before you register your car, if not; you are in violation of Georgia auto insurance laws. You will not be allowed to register or renew your car tags without proof of insurance. You are allowed 10 days to insure your vehicle. Off-highway vehicles and non-operational vehicles do not require the minimum liability auto insurance. Other exemptions are; the owner moved to another state or the ownership was transferred to another state, the vehicle lease ended, the car was repossessed or stolen, the car was sold, the vehicle is used only during certain times of the year such as farm equipment or it is garaged for restoring, and the car has been wrecked, salvaged, or junked. Members of the military are also given exemptions when they are deployed as long as the vehicle will not be driven by another member of the family in their absence. You may file for the exemption prior to, during or after deployment.


The penalties for not adhering to Georgia auto insurance laws, at least minimally liability auto insurance include fines, loss of your registration and possibly your driver’s license,. The fine for the first offence is $25.00 plus a $60.00 fee to reinstate the registration. If you drive with a suspended registration, the state of Georgia considers this action a misdemeanor and your car may be impounded. On the second and third offenses, the fine remains $25.00with a $160.00 reinstatement fee as well as loss of your license plates and registration for 6 months, something that ha happened to many who didn’t meet the Georgia auto insurance requirements. The fines for further offenses can go as high as $1,000.00 and a one year jail sentence.


The following forms of proof of insurance are accepted in the state of Georgia.

  • Valid insurance indicator (filed electronically with state)
  • Valid fleet insurance policy information card
  • Bill of sale within 30 days of purchase date plus a valid insurance declaration page
  • Valid self-insure insurance card and certificate issued by the state of Georgia (ICO)
  • Valid Insurance policy information card from a licensed insurance broker
  • Car rental agreement