Delaware Auto Insurance

Delaware Auto Insurance Laws

Delaware car insurance laws require drivers to provide the minimum mandatory liability auto insurance on any registered vehicle in the state. This insurance must be obtained through an authorized insurance company which has received approval from the state of Delaware. The top ten companies in Delaware include Nationwide Insurance, State Farm Insurance, Progressive Insurance, Berkshire Hathaway, Liberty Mutual, Allstate Insurance, USAA, Hartford Fire and Casualty, AIG, and Sentry Insurance.

No vehicle will be registered in the state of Delaware without proof of the minimum liability auto insurance. The minimum liability auto insurance coverage in Delaware is $15,000.00 of bodily injury insurance for each individual, $30,000.00 for two or more injured people and $10,000.00 for property damage. You must also carry a minimum of $15,000.00/$30,000.00 PIP insurance to satisfy Delaware state auto insurance requirements. Any auto insurance policy purchased in Delaware must include the minimum liability amounts.

You must carry proof of insurance with you at all times. Uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage is not in required by Delaware auto insurance laws but the insurance company must offer you the option to purchase this coverage when you buy your minimum coverage. Should you choose not to take this option, you will have to sign a paper stating that you turned down the coverage. Comprehension and collision coverage is not required by the state of Delaware.

Delaware Auto Insurance Requirements

Every motorized vehicle on Delaware roads must be covered by the minimum liability coverage, as it’s a strong part of Delaware auto insurance requirements. This law also applies to rental vehicles. Your insurance policy usually covers rental vehicles. The credit card you use to rent the car may also cover the insurance on the vehicle. If this is not the case, you will have to purchase the minimum liability auto insurance policy from the rental car company. Be sure to carry the rental agreement in the car at all times. This is your proof of insurance should you be involved in an accident or get stopped for a traffic violation.

If you are involved in an accident or experience any type of traffic stop in the state of Delaware, the police officer will request proof of insurance. You must have the proof of insurance even if you are not at fault. The state of Delaware also performs random insurance checks to implore people to be in accordance to Delaware auto insurance laws. All insurance policies in the state are reported electronically by the insurance company as well as any lapses in policy coverage. Lack of insurance could result in fines, loss of your license and revocation of your registration.

You must obtain the minimum insurance before you register your car. You will not be allowed to register your car without proof of insurance. There is no wait time allowed for you to insure your vehicle. Off-highway vehicles and non-operational vehicles do not require the minimum liability auto insurance.

PENALTIES

The penalties for not carrying current minimum liability auto insurance in the state of Delaware include fines, loss of your driver’s license and registration. The fines can range from $100.00 for the first offence to $3,000.00 if you get caught a second time without satisfying Delaware auto insurance requirements. Your license may be suspended for six months along with your car’s registration. The suspended registration will mean that no one can operate your vehicle.

PROOF OF INSURANCE

Your proof of insurance should be kept in the car at all times. This proof needs to include the name of the insurance company and the policy holder’s name. It also needs to have the make, model, and year of the vehicle being covered on it. The vehicle’s VIN number and the dates of coverage are also required to assure the law enforcement officer that the insurance is current.