Connecticut Auto Insurance

Connecticut Auto Insurance Laws

Connecticut auto insurance laws require you to carry a minimum amount of liability and uninsured and underinsured insurance. You will need to provide proof that you possess the minimum liability auto insurance to pay for injuries to another person or damages to their property in case of an accident.

The Connecticut State Department of Revenue and the Connecticut State Department of Insurance are the government agencies you need to present your proof of insurance to. You may also need to contact the Motor Vehicle Division. In order to register your car in Connecticut, you must prove that you have the proper liability auto insurance coverage.

Without proof of insurance, you may be refused a vehicle registration. All eligible drivers in a household must be covered under a liability auto insurance policy at all times, making up a solid portion of Connecticut auto insurance requirements. The insurance companies are required to notify if your policy lapses or expires. The DMV will contact you to demand new proof of insurance. Failure to provide this information will result in fines as well as other measures.

Mandatory liability auto insurance is also required on rental vehicles as per Connecticut auto insurance laws. Your personal auto insurance policy generally covers rental cars but if it does not provide coverage for rental vehicles, you may want to check with the credit card that you used to rent the car. Credit card companies sometimes cover insurance on rental cars. If neither option applies to your situation, you must purchase the minimum liability insurance from the rental company. In Connecticut, this may run you from $7.00 to $14.00 per day. Keep the rental agreement in the vehicle throughout the term of the agreement. This will be your proof of insurance in case of an accident or traffic stop.

Understanding Connecticut Auto Insurance Laws

Connecticut is now a Torte state. This means that the individual who is at fault in an accident may be sued by those injured in the accident, or families of those killed in the accident, for pain, suffering, and lost wages. That individual will also be held responsible for all medical expenses connected to the accident.

You must have proof of insurance with you at all times. Connecticut’s mandatory minimum liability auto insurance limits are $20,000.00 per individual injury or death, $40,000.00 for all injured persons, and $10,000.00 for damage to property, the absolute basics in Connecticut auto insurance requirements. Auto insurance policies purchased in Connecticut will include the mandatory liability minimum insurance limits. The state of Connecticut does require drivers to carry uninsured and underinsured auto insurance in the amounts of $20,000.00 and $40,000.00 of coverage.

The amount of the uninsured and underinsured policies must equal the bodily injury limits of $20,000.00 and $40,000.00 and may be raised as high as twice the liability amounts to $40,000.00 and $80,000.00. Connecticut auto insurance laws do not demand you to carry collision and comprehensive insurance on your vehicle but the insurance company must offer you that option. Insurance is not required on off-highway vehicles, non-registered non-operational vehicles or planned non-operational cars with the registration on hold.


Connecticut requires motorists to be covered by the mandatory liability auto insurance policy at all times. You will not be allowed to register your vehicle without proof of insurance. Should you become involved in an accident or be stopped for a traffic violation and you do not have the required liability policy, you will be cited as an uninsured motorist. Even if the accident is not your fault, you can still be cited for lacking proof of insurance. This will result in fines and possibly the loss of your vehicles registration as dictated in Connecticut auto insurance laws. The penalties will increase with repeat offenses. The exemptions to the mandatory liability insurance are off-highway vehicles, non-registered non-operational vehicles or planned non-operational cars with the registration on hold.

Upon the first offense, you will be charged $200.00 and the revocation of your vehicle registration. Failure to pay the fine may take away your ability to register vehicles with the state of Connecticut in the future.

Proof of Insurance

You must produce proof of insurance upon request by the authorities if you want to be in adherence to Connecticut auto insurance laws. Information supplied to the DMV by the insurance company will include the name of the insurance company, the dates of coverage, and the amount of liability coverage. It also needs to include the policy number, VIN number of the vehicles covered, the make and model of the vehicles as well as the name of the policy holder. The auto insurance needs to be authorized by a qualified auto insurance company.

Remember that you may need your proof of minimum liability auto insurance at any time. You will definitely need it at the time of registering your car, in the case of involvement in an accident either as the cause of the accident or the victim of the accident, or if you should be stopped for a traffic violation.