Arkansas Auto Insurance

Arkansas Auto Insurance Laws

It is mandatory that every registered vehicle in the state of Arkansas be covered by the minimum liability auto insurance if you’re going to be in accordance to Arkansas auto insurance laws. Furthermore, Arkansas has a system in place to verify that all registered motor vehicles are covered by the minimum mandatory liability insurance. The minimum liability limits in Arkansas are $25,000.00 of personal injury insurance per individual injured in an accident, $50,000.00 of personal injury insurance for all persons as a group injured in an accident, and $25,000.00 of property damage insurance per accident. If you buy auto insurance in the state of Arkansas, it must meet the minimum requirements of the mandatory liability insurance demanded by the state.

It is against the law to drive a motorized vehicle in the state of Arkansas without the mandatory minimum liability insurance coverage, and that’s something that doesn’t have to happen, especially considering the lax Arkansas auto insurance requirements. Rental vehicles are included in this law. If you rent a car in the state of Arkansas, it must be covered by either your personal insurance policy, coverage provided by the credit card you used to rent the car, or the insurance provided by the rental car company. The rental agreement must disclose the liability insurance coverage and the provider. This documentation must be carried in the rental car throughout the term of the rental contract.

Keep Your Vehicle Insured – Follow Arkansas Auto insurance Laws

Your vehicle must be insured at all times. The law applies to all motorized vehicles whether you drive a truck, van, motorcycle, or SUV. Travelers passing through or visiting the state are exempt from the minimum liability insurance law as well as individuals who have just moved to Arkansas. Vehicles which are operated off the road and vehicles which do not work are also exempt from the minimum liability auto insurance coverage and are not subject to Arkansas auto insurance laws.

The state of Arkansas also requires insurance agencies to supply the state with information on all auto insurance policies. This means that your insurance information will be sent to the state when you purchase, renew, or make any changes to your policy. They will also report any lapses or cancellations in your policy. The state will then notify you of your lapsed policy and strongly request you fix the problem by: 1) proof of a replacement policy, 2) proof you are no longer driving the vehicle for whatever reason, or 3) proof you no longer own the vehicle. This proof needs to go to the Office of Motor Vehicles. If you do not immediately comply with this request, the vehicle’s registration will be suspended, and that’s something that the Arkansas auto insurance laws are explicit about.

PROOF OF INSURANCE

In order to register your vehicle in the state of Arkansas, you must provide proof of insurance. Your proof of insurance must be carried in each vehicle at all times, as the Arkansas auto insurance laws dictate. You must present the proof of insurance to the investigating officer at the time of an accident or upon request during a traffic stop. Since the insurance agents have to provide your name and insurance coverage to the state, the only acceptable proof you can carry is a policy statement in your car from your agent, a copy of your insurance, an insurance card, or other documentation from the insurance company.

The proof must include the name of the insurance company, the coverage carried on the vehicle, the VIN number of the vehicle, the make and model of the vehicle, the dates of effectiveness of the coverage, and the policy holders name as well as the persons covered by the policy.

PENALTIES

In addition to the suspension of the vehicle registration, you may also be fined $250.00. Should you commit repeated offenses, the fines may go as high as $1,000.00 and you may receive one year of jail time. In order to get the suspension removed, you will be required to prove you have obtained the minimum auto liability insurance coverage for the vehicle.

Uninsured and underinsured automobile insurance coverage is not mandatory in Arkansas even though most insurance companies may suggest you carry it, but it’s nice to know that it doesn’t fit into the Arkansas auto insurance requirements. It will provide another layer of protection in accidents where uninsured and underinsured drivers are involved. The insurance companies are required to offer you the chance to purchase underinsured motorist coverage for bodily injury and personal injury as well as uninsured motorist bodily injury and property damage coverage.